If you wish to operate a motorcycle or motor scooter, you must hold a valid Mississippi driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement. To obtain this endorsement, you are required to pass a knowledge (written) and skills (road) test on the operation of a motorcycle.
According to Mississippi law, the term “motorcycle” includes motor scooters. “Motor scooter” means a two-wheeled vehicle that has a seat for the operator, one (1) wheel that is ten (10) inches or more in diameter, a step-through chassis, a motor with a rating of two and seven-tenths (2.7) brake horsepower or less if the motor is an internal combustion engine, an engine of 50cc or less and otherwise meets all safety requirements of motorcycles. As such, you must have a valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement.
All applicants must be at least sixteen (16) years old to obtain a Mississippi driver’s license. The minimum age to obtain a motorcycle learner’s permit is fifteen (15) years old. The learner’s permit must be held for one year or until the applicant reaches the age of seventeen (17), whichever occurs first.
An applicant with a valid out-of-state driver's license with a motorcycle endorsement may be issued a Mississippi driver's license with a motorcycle endorsement, without further testing.
Applicants who have successfully completed a motorcycle safety class endorsed by the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators are not required to take the skills test. The applicant is required to complete the knowledge test.
The initial cost of the motorcycle learner’s permit fee is $1.00 plus $5.00 for the motorcycle endorsement. This is in addition to any fees for a new or duplicate driver's license (if applicable).
Mississippi law does require that you wear a helmet that meets American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) criteria whenever you ride your motorcycle or motor scooter.
The Driver Service Bureau highly recommends all applicants make an appointment at dps.ms.gov/appointment.