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I did not receive any mail from the Driver Service Bureau 
related to my license and DUI offense. Why not? 

State law requires drivers to update their license with their new 
address within 30 days even if the license is valid and 
unexpired. Mail can only be sent to the address on file.  

__________________________________________________________ 

Why is my license suspended for my DUI when I have not 
been to court yet? 

Two reasons related to DUI charge would cause your license to 
be suspended before your court date: 

• You were operating a motor vehicle on a public road in this 
state; and an officer suspected you of driving under the 
influence and asked for a breath, blood, or urine sample; 
and you refused. 

• You provided a breath sample to an officer above the legal 
limit, and the temporary license you were issued has 
expired without the Driver Service Bureau receiving an 
Order Extending Driving Privileges.  
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I paid my DUI fines.  Why is my license still suspended?  

Paying fines to the court is part of the sentence imposed upon 
you by the judge. Your license is still suspended because you 
must attend and complete the Mississippi Alcohol Safety 
Education Program (MASEP) and pay the $175.00 
reinstatement fee to Driver Service Bureau required by state 
law.  

__________________________________________________________ 

How do I have my license reinstated? 

The Driver Service Bureau must have proof that you have 
current insurance because you were cited for driving under the 
influence offense. To provide proof of insurance, you will need 
to go to a local Driver Service Bureau location and pay the 
reinstatement fee of $175.00 required by state law. 

__________________________________________________________ 

How do I know which citations have my license suspended?  

Contact the court where the citations were issued or the Driver 
Service Bureau with the Mississippi Department of Public 
Safety. 
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I just left the courtroom after a DUI 1st offense was non-
adjudicated.  

What happens with my license? 
If your DUI 1st offense was related to alcohol, your license will 
either be: 

1. Suspended for 120 days or 
2. Restricted for 120 days with the installation of the 

ignition-interlock device on your vehicle 
If your DUI 1st offense was related to a controlled substance or 
other substance, your license will either be: 

1. Suspended for 120 days or 
2. Valid while you undergo drug testing as ordered by the 

court 

__________________________________________________________ 

Where is the nearest Driver Service Bureau location. 

Visit www.dps.ms.gov for more information related to 
locations. 

__________________________________________________________ 

My tickets are ___ years old.  Why do I have to pay them?   

State law requires payment of implied consent violations 
without regard to how long ago they occurred.  

 

https://www.dps.ms.gov/
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I just left the courtroom after a DUI 1st offense adjudicated 
guilty.  

What happens with my license? 
If your DUI 1st offense was related to alcohol, your license will 
either be: 

1. Suspended for 120 days or 
2. Restricted for 120 days with the installation of the 

ignition-interlock device on your vehicle 
If your DUI 1st offense was related to a controlled substance or 
other substance, your license will either be: 

1. Suspended for 120 days or 
2. Valid while you undergo drug testing as ordered by the 

court 

__________________________________________________________ 

The court told me I was not eligible for a non-adjudication 
of the DUI offense I was issued. Why am I not eligible? 

A person is eligible for non-adjudication of an offense under 
Miss. Code § 63-11-30 only one (1) time under any provision of 
a law that authorizes non-adjudication and only for an 
offender: 

(i) Who has successfully completed all terms and 
conditions imposed by the court after placement of 
the defendant in a non-adjudication program; 

(ii) Who was not the holder of a commercial driver's 
license or a commercial learning permit at the time 
of the offense; 
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(iii) Who has not previously been convicted of and does 
not have pending any former or subsequent charges 
under this section; and 

(iv) Who has provided the court with justification as to 
why non-adjudication is appropriate 

__________________________________________________________ 

When will my driver’s license be suspended for my DUI 
non-adjudication or conviction?  

Under state law, the first day of any 120-day suspension shall 
begin 21 days after the entry of judgment of conviction or order 
of non-adjudication. 

__________________________________________________________ 

How long will my license be suspended for the DUI 
conviction?  

DUI 1st offense: 120 days 
DUI 2nd offense: 1 year 
DUI 3rd offense: Full period of the sentence imposed by the 
court 
DUI 4th offense: Full period of the sentence imposed by the 
court 
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When will I lose my CDL for the DUI conviction? 
The date of disqualification will be contained in the Notice of 
CDL Disqualification which will be mailed to the address on 
file. 

__________________________________________________________ 

I have a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)/Commercial 
Learner’s Permit (CLP), and the court will not allow me to 
attend “defensive driving school” or any other type of class 
to keep the citation from appearing on my driver record. 
Why am I being treated differently than everyone else? 

Federal and state law prohibit deferring judgments of driving 
offenses for CDL or CLP holders. 
There are no exceptions. 

__________________________________________________________ 

May I get a hardship license with a pending DUI or with a 

recently adjudicated guilty DUI?  NO 

Hardship licenses are not available from the Driver 
Service Bureau for drivers affected by DUI. 
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Why is my license suspended? 

State law requires the Driver Service Bureau to suspend a 
driver’s license for various reasons. Below are the most 
common reasons a license is under suspension: 

• Your license was confiscated by an officer after you 
refused to provide a breath, blood, or urine sample 
related to driving a vehicle on public roads while under 
suspicion for driving under the influence. 

• Your license was confiscated by an officer after you 
provided a breath sample over the legal limit, and you 
failed to notify the court you needed an order extending 
driving privileges until your court date. 

• You were convicted of a DUI. 
• You were non-adjudicated for a DUI 1st offense. 
• You owe a fee to a court for a citation that was issued 

prior to July 1, 2019. 
• You failed to appear in court for an out-of-state citation; 

you were found guilty in your absence, and that state has 
notified Mississippi under the interstate compact law. 

• A judgment was rendered against you in a civil action, and 
you have not satisfied the judgment. 

• Noncompliance with a child support order. 
• The Driver Service Bureau has received notice that you 

were convicted of one of the following: 
o Manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from the 

operation of a motor vehicle; 
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o Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle 
is used; 

o Failure to stop and render aid as required under the 
laws of this state in event of a motor vehicle accident 
resulting in the death or personal injury of another; 

o Perjury or the willful making of a false affidavit or 
statement under oath to the department under this 
article or under any other law relating to the ownership 
or operation of motor vehicles; or 

o Conviction, or forfeiture of bail not vacated, upon three 
(3) charges of reckless driving committed within a 
period of twelve (12) months. 

__________________________________________________________ 

My license is scheduled to be suspended because I refused 
to provide a breath, blood, or urine sample when the officer 
asked for a sample. What happens to my license? 

Under current state law, if you do nothing at all, your license 
will be suspended for 90 days. 

Drivers whose license will be suspended for refusing to provide 
a breath sample may go before the court where the DUI will be 
adjudicated and request an order for a restricted license to be 
used in conjunction with the ignition-interlock for your vehicle. 
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A driver who has been charged with the criminal offense of 
operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or 
other impairing substance (DUI, §63-11-30) may have multiple 
sanctions against the driver’s license, possibly resulting in 
multiple suspensions. A license holder should be aware of the 
following issues related to a driver’s license for DUI offenses in 
the state of Mississippi: 

Administrative Suspensions – Applicable to All DUI Offenses 

• Lapse in Temporary License, 90-day suspension (§63-11-
23) 

At the time of the offense, the driver’s license should have been 
seized by a law enforcement officer. A receipt for the driver’s 
license should then be provided to the driver.  That receipt 
serves as a temporary permit to drive, and that permit is only 
valid for 30 days.  When the permit expires, the driver’s license 
will then be administratively suspended for 90 days under §63-
11-23.  

To stop this suspension from happening, the driver must 
contact the court, request a trial date, and request an extension 
of this driving permit.  If no contact with the court is made within 
30 days to obtain a court order extending the temporary permit, 
driving privileges will be suspended for a period of 90 days. 

• Refusal of Alcohol Concentration Testing (§63-11-23) 
When a person refuses to submit to the chemical testing of that 
person’s breath, blood, or urine upon request of a law 
enforcement officer who has reasonable grounds and probable 
cause to believe a person has been operating a motor vehicle 
upon the public highways, public roads, and streets of 
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Mississippi while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or 
any other substance that may impair a person’s mental or 
physical ability, the person’s Class R license shall be suspended 
for 90 days. CDLs shall be suspended for 1 year for a refusal of 
chemical testing. (§63-1-216) 

If the person has previously been convicted or non-adjudicated 
for a violation of §63-11-30, the person’s Class R license shall be 
suspended for 1 year. 

To avoid a suspension of a Class R license, courts may issue an 
order to the driver for the ignition-interlock-restricted license. 

DUI Non-adjudications 
“Non-adjudication” means that the court withholds 
adjudication of guilt and sentencing - upon the entry of a plea of 
guilt by the defendant or at the conclusion of a trial on the merits 
- and places the defendant in a non-adjudication program 
conditioned upon the successful completion of the 
requirements imposed. §63-11-30(14) 
 
• Eligibility for non-adjudication 
A person is eligible for non-adjudication of an offense under 
§63-11-30 only one (1) time under any provision of a law that 
authorizes non-adjudication. 

The offender must: 
• successfully complete all terms and conditions imposed 

by the court after placement of the defendant in non-
adjudication program.  

• not be the holder of a commercial motor vehicle license 
(CDL) or learning permit at the time of the offense. 
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All documents should be mailed from the court within 5 
business days of issuing the order of non-adjudication.  Drivers 
are encouraged to contact the DPS DUI Department to ensure 
court documents have been received and entered on the 
driver’s record prior to appearing at the DL station to obtain any 
ignition-interlock-restricted license 

Suspensions Subsequent to Conviction 
• DUI, 1st offense 
Upon conviction of a DUI, 1st offense, a Class R license will be 
suspended for 120 days, absent a court order for the ignition 
interlock-restricted license. 
 
Attendance and completion of the Mississippi Alcohol Safety 
Education Program (MASEP) is required, along with proof of 
insurance for three years.  

To continue driving privileges instead of suspension, the court 
can order the driver to obtain the ignition-interlock-restricted 
license. Conditions of the ignition-interlock-restricted license 
are imposed under §63-11-31. 

CDL holders shall be disqualified from driving a commercial 
motor vehicle for a period of one (1) year upon conviction of a 
first violation of operating, attempting to operate, or being in 
actual physical control of a commercial motor vehicle on a 
highway with an alcohol concentration of four one-hundredths 
percent (0.04%) or more, or under the influence as provided in 
§63-11-30.  A driver can hold only one (1) active credential at a 
time; Commercial License (CDL) or Regular License (Class “R”).  
Suspension time and court DUI convictions are determined 
according to the active license status that Mississippi 



   
 

12 
 

Department of Public Safety has on file at the time of the traffic 
offense.       

• DUI, 2nd offense 
Upon a second conviction of a DUI, with the offenses being 
committed within a period of five (5) years, a Class R license will 
be suspended for 1 year, absent a court order for the ignition 
interlock-restricted license. 

• DUI, 3rd offense 
Upon a third conviction of a DUI, with the offenses being 
committed within a period of five (5) years, the offense is 
classified as a felony, and a Class R license will be suspended 
for the full period of the person’s sentence. Once released from 
incarceration, the person will be eligible for only an interlock-
restricted license for three (3) years. 

• DUI, 4th or subsequent offense 
Upon a fourth conviction of a DUI, without regard to the time 
period within which the violations occurred, the offense is 
classified as a felony, and a Class R license will be suspended 
for the full period of the person’s sentence. Once released from 
incarceration, the person will be eligible for only an interlock-
restricted license for ten (10) years. 

Suspension Start Times 
Suspensions for non-adjudications and convictions shall start 
21 days from the date the court order was entered.  
 
Appeals 
Any driver who appeals the judgment of either the municipal or 
justice court where the finding of guilt occurred must provide 
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DPS with the file-stamped “Notice of Appeal” within 30 days of 
the date of conviction. 
 
CDL Down-Grade to Class R License 
CDL holders who have been suspended for any reason related 
to a violation of the implied consent law, including a conviction 
for DUI, remain ineligible to possess a valid CDL during the 
suspension time. 
Should the CDL holder wish to surrender the CDL and 
downgrade to a Class R license, the suspension time will 
continue to run for the CDL. Any provisions of law made 
available to a Class R license holder remain available to the 
affected “former” CDL holder. Class “R” or regular license 
holders that are convicted for DUI may obtain a restricted 
license see (Restricted Licenses) below for further details. 

Ignition Interlock-Restricted Licenses 
Under §63-11-31, a court may order installation and use of an 
ignition-interlock device for every vehicle operated by a person 
convicted or non-adjudicated; and each device shall be 
installed and maintained for the period proscribed by the court.  
The ignition-interlock-restricted license should be required by 
the court in a written order.  The device is to be installed prior to 
the driver being suspended for the DUI conviction or non-
adjudication. 
A person who installs an ignition-interlock device must obtain 
an ignition-interlock-restricted license.  In order to obtain an 
ignition-interlock-restricted license, a person must be 
otherwise qualified to operate a motor vehicle and will be 
subject to all restrictions on the privilege to drive provided by 
law AND submit proof that an ignition-interlock device was 
installed and is operating on all motor vehicles operated by the 
person.  Once the ignition-interlock device has been installed, 
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the driver must take the vehicle to the Department of Public 
Safety for verification that the device was installed in order to 
obtain the ignition-interlock-restricted license. 

The following companies install ignition-interlock devices in 
vehicles in Mississippi. 

You must contact these numbers and tell them your location. 
They will tell you the nearest location. 

Alcohol Detection Systems - (888) 205-5431 

Intoxalock – (888) 283-5899 

Life Safer Superior Interlock Services, Inc. – (800) 377-8750 

Smart Start – (800) 880-3394 

FEES: 

The ignition-interlock fee is to be paid when you obtain your 
ignition-interlock-restricted driving license: $175.00. 

Ignition-interlock-restricted driver’s license: $56.00. 

Reinstatement fee to a regular driver’s license after a 
suspension related to the Implied Consent Law has been 
served: $175.00 

RESOURCES: 

MS Dept. of Mental Health – (877) 210-8513 

MS Alcohol Safety Education Program (MASEP) – (662) 325-5520 

https://masep.org/

