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TATE REEVES 
GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI 

 
Operating a vehicle is an exciting privilege that should be taken seriously. Learning and following the 
rules of the road are the best ways to protect yourself and those around you from harm while traveling 
the roadways of our great state. 

Each year, thousands of motorists are injured or lose their lives. Distracted driving is one of the leading 
causes of accidents. Like I tell my girls as I teach them to drive, your focus should be on the road - do 
not text and drive. Keep yourself and others safe by learning, understanding, and obeying the traffic 
laws outlined in this manual. 

Make certain that you and your passengers buckle up your seat belts every time you travel in a motor 
vehicle. Seat belts have proven to save lives. Buckle up; it is the law. Also, take special care in school 
zones and when sharing the road with bicyclists. 

I wish you the best as you prepare to become a licensed, responsible driver. The Mississippi Department 
of Public Safety and the Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol strive for “Courtesy, Service, and Safety,” 
and stand ready to assist you in any way. 
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SEAN TINDELL 

MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSIONER 
 

Congratulations on taking the first step towards becoming a licensed driver in Mississippi. In this 
manual, you will find the rules that govern the operation of motor vehicles on our roadways. This 
manual will also help you prepare for the required examination. 

 
As a licensed driver, you will be able to travel freely and enjoy our great state and nation. However, 
driving is a privilege and should be taken very seriously. Lives are saved each day when drivers 
follow the rules of the road and practice safe driving habits. We encourage you to learn and obey the 
rules outlined in this manual. 

 
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety and the Mississippi Highway Patrol are committed to 
making your driving experience as safe as possible. We are here to assist if you have trouble on the 
roadways. If you need additional information, please visit our website at www.dps.ms.gov. 

 
 
 
 
 

http://www.dps.ms.gov/
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Keep Mississippi Beautiful! 
Mississippi is one of the most beautiful 
states in the nation. Show pride in that 

beauty. Never toss litter from your vehicle, 
let trash blow out of your vehicle, or dump 
garbage on the roadside. Any person found 

guilty of littering on Mississippi’s roads, 
highways, interstates, or within their 

rights-of-way shall be fined. This offense is 
easily preventable: Keep a trash bag in your 

vehicle and dispose of your trash 
responsibly. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

FEE PAYMENT 

All offices accept cash, credit 
cards, and debit cards. 

Credit/debit cards must be Visa/ 
MasterCard. NO CHECKS. 

FEES FOR ORIGINAL & RENEWAL LICENSES 
 

Regular License, Class R — 4 year — 
— 8 year — 

$24.00 
$47.00 

Regular License, Class R 
(driver under 21 years old) 

— 4 year — $24.00 

Learner’s Permit  $7.00 

Commercial License, Class D — 4 year — 
— 8 year — 

$29.00 
$57.00 

Identification Card — 4 year — 
— 8 year — 

$17.00 
$33.00 

Motorcycle Endorsement — 4 year — 
— 8 year — 

$5.00 
$10.00 

 

OTHER FEES 
 

Duplicate License $11.00 

Late Fee $1.00 
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LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 
Under the laws of Mississippi, you must have a valid Driver’s License or Learner’s 
Permit to operate any motor vehicle (except road and farm equipment) on streets or 
highways. Driving without a valid Driver’s License or Learner's Permit is illegal, even if 
you are accompanied by a parent or licensed driver. 

LICENSE EXEMPTIONS INELIGIBLE PERSONS 

You are exempt from having a 
Mississippi driver’s license if any of 
the following is true: 

• You are operating any vehicle
belonging to a branch of the
United States Armed Services.

• You are a non-resident over the
age of sixteen and have in your 
possession a valid driver’s 
license issued to you in your 
home state or home country. 

• You are operating any road
machine, farm tractor, or farm
equipment on streets or
highways.

The law prevents you from being 
issued a license in Mississippi if any of 
the following is true: 

• You have not reached the age of
sixteen years, and you have not
held a Learner’s Permit for one
year without certain convictions.

• You are under eighteen years old
and do not provide proper 
documentation of your enrollment 
in school. 

• You have not passed the written 
driver’s examination.

• You have not provided an affidavit 
whereby a parent, teacher, or 
guardian has certified that he or she 
has witnessed you operate a motor 
vehicle for at least fifty hours.

• Your license has been
revoked or suspended.

• You are habitually intoxicated
or are addicted to the use of 
narcotics.

• You have a physical or mental 
condition incompatible with safe 
driving.

• You have been adjudged insane.
• You have not completed a certified 

Driver's Education course (beginning 
July 1, 2027)
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 OUT-OF-STATE DRIVERS: MOVING TO MISSISSIPPI  
 

If you move to Mississippi, you must obtain a Mississippi driver’s license within sixty 
days. You must obtain a Mississippi license plate/tag within thirty days. 

When you apply for a Mississippi driver’s license you must surrender all out-of-state 
licenses. If your out-of-state license has been lost, you must obtain an Affidavit of 
Inability to Surrender form from the Driver’s License office. Your signature must be 
notarized on this form. 

Your driving record in other states will be checked before a Mississippi license is issued. 
 
If you have a valid driver’s license from another state, the Computerized Exam will be 
waived. You must pass a vision screening. 

If your out-of-state license has been expired over thirty days, you must take the 
Computerized Exam. All out-of-state driver’s license and ID card applications require the 
following: 

• Certified state-issued birth certificate 

• Original social security card or print-out from the social security office 

• Two proofs of residency 
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What if my license expires while I am out-of-state due to military service? 

If you are out-of-state due to military service at the time your valid license expires, you may renew the 
license at any time within ninety days of being discharged from military service or upon returning to 

the state. 

You must provide proof of your military service and of your discharge or return to the state by 
affidavit. A delinquent fee is not required. An examination is not required, unless the Department of 

Public Safety has reason to believe the licensee is no longer eligible to receive a license. 

For any licensed driver who qualifies for a LICENSE RENEWAL, the license may 
be renewed UP TO SIX MONTHS prior to the expiration date. 

MILITARY PERSONNEL AND COLLEGE STUDENTS 
Non-resident military personnel and their families are allowed to drive in Mississippi provided they hold 
a valid driver’s license from another state. Similarly, out-of-state college students are allowed to drive in 
Mississippi with their out-of-state license. 

The same policy applies to auto license plates. 

Military personnel and college students can renew or replace their driver’s license or identification card 
online. Visit the Department of Public Safety website for more information. 

 

 

 NON-CITIZEN LICENSES AND IDENTIFICATION CARDS  
If you are a non-citizen, you must meet all requirements for a driver’s license or identification card 
except for providing a social security card. To obtain a Regular Driver’s License, you must have a 
Permanent Resident/Green Card status with the Immigration/Homeland Security Department OR 
valid immigration papers indicating your legally permitted length of stay in the United States. 

 

For ORIGINAL licenses or identification 
cards you must present: 

 
original Permanent Resident Card 

(no photocopies allowed) 
OR 

valid immigration papers + passport 
OR 

I-94 + passport 
AND 

birth certificate (translated by a university) 
two proofs of residency 

For RENEWALS, you must 
present: 

 
original Permanent Resident Card 

(no photocopies allowed) 
OR 

valid immigration papers + passport 
OR 

I-94 + passport 
AND 

driver’s license or identification card 

 

 

For non-citizens, their regular license or identification card will be valid for four years 
or until your legal status expiration date [if less than four years away]. The standard 

license fee applies, regardless of how long the license is valid. 

https://www.dps.ms.gov/
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You must pass the same Computerized Exam required for a Regular Driver’s 
License to be eligible for a Regular Learner's Permit. 

 

 
If I pass the Computerized Exam and receive my Learner's Permit, do I have to retake the 

Computerized Exam to apply for my Regular Driver's License? 
 

Your Computerized Exam score is valid for two years. If you provide an affidavit whereby a parent, 
teacher, or guardian has certified that he or she has witnessed you operate a motor vehicle for at 
least fifty hours and attest to your proficiency in the proper and safe operation of a motor vehicle 

before two years have passed, you do not have to retake the Computerized Exam. If you wait 
longer than two years you will have to retake the Computerized Exam. You will also need to submit 

a School Attendance Affidavit. 

TYPES OF LICENSES & PERMITS 
 

REGULAR LEARNER’S PERMIT 
You must be at least fifteen years old to apply for a Regular Learner’s Permit. You must hold the 
Learner’s Permit for one year before you can upgrade to a Regular Driver’s License. [If you turn 
seventeen before you have held the Learner's Permit for one year, you are eligible to apply for a Regular 
License.] The Regular Learner’s Permit is valid for two years. It entitles you to drive a motor vehicle 
when accompanied by a licensed driver aged twenty-one years or older who is physically occupying the 
seat next to you. 
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A Class D license is required when you are 
operating a vehicle commercially and the 
vehicle is under 26,000 pounds gross vehicle 
weight rating. You do not need a commercial 
license to drive a pick-up truck, regardless of 
what the truck is used for, unless you are 
transporting hazardous materials in an amount 
that requires a placard. 

 
 
 

 SCHOOL BUS LICENSE  

You must be at least twenty-one years old 
before you are eligible for a license to drive a 
school bus per the Mississippi Department of 
Education. 

 
 

 
 RESTRICTIONS  
If you require some type of aid or special 
equipment (such as eyeglasses) in order to pass 
the exam for a license or permit, then your 
license will be restricted accordingly. 

To operate a motor-driven cycle, you must obtain 
a Motorcycle Endorsement to go along with your 
Driver’s License. 

 
To receive the Motorcycle Endorsement, you 
must complete a computerized test on the 
operation of a motorcycle and a skills test. You 
may obtain a Mississippi Motorcycle Operator's 
Manual from the nearest driver’s license station 
or online. 

 
When applying for a motorcycle endorsement, 
advise the examiner so that the proper test will 
be administered. 
If you hold an out-of-state license which is valid 
for the operation of motorcycles, the 
computerized and skills tests may be waived. 

NOTE: A crash helmet must be worn if operating 
or riding any motorcycle or motor scooter upon 
the public roads or highways of this state. The 
helmet must comply with minimum guidelines 
established by the National Highway Traffic 
Administration. 

 
 
 
 

 

LICENSE, CLASS D MOTORCYCLE ENDORSEMENT 

https://www.driverservicebureau.dps.ms.gov/sites/default/files/2023-07/S-Motorcycle%20%20Manual%2023.pdf
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Additionally, whether or not you have been convicted of certain violations 
will determine eligibility for a Regular Driver’s License. 

 

 
 
 

What if I am fifteen and one- 
half years old when I receive my 
Learner’s Permit? Do I still have 
to wait a year before I quality 
for a Regular Driver’s License? 

Yes. If you are issued a Learner’s 
Permit at age fifteen and one-

half, you will be eligible for your 
Regular Driver’s License at age 

sixteen and one-half. 

You must always have your Driver’s License in your 
possession while operating a motor vehicle. 

REGULAR DRIVER’S LICENSE (CLASS R) 
You are eligible for a Class R Regular Driver’s License if you provide all required documentation, and: 

 
• pass the written examination 

 
• pass the vision examination 

 
• provide documentation showing completion of Driver's Education (beginning July 1, 2027) 

 
• if you are under 17 you must provide an affidavit for Road Test Waiver whereby a parent, 

teacher, or guardian has certified that he or she has witnessed you operate a motor vehicle 
for at least fifty hours and attest to your proficiency in the proper and safe operation of a 
motor vehicle 

 
• meet the physical requirements, AND: 

 
• You have reached the age of sixteen and have held a Learner’s Permit for one year. 

OR 
 

• You have reached the age of seventeen or older, regardless of previous permits or licenses held. 
OR 

 
• You have held an out-of-state driver’s license for at least six months. 

 

 
 
 
 
 

What if I am sixteen years old 
when I begin the application 

process? 
If you first apply at age sixteen, 

you will be issued a Learner’s 
Permit. 

When you turn seventeen, you 
will be eligible for a Regular 

Driver’s License. 

 

 
 
 

What if I am seventeen 
years old (or older) when I 

begin the application process? 
If you first apply at age 

seventeen or older, you may 
apply directly for a Regular 

Driver’s License. 
You may complete the 

Computerized Exam on the 
same day. 
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APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS 
To obtain a license of any type, you must complete an application form furnished by the Department of 
Public Safety, Driver Service Bureau. 
The completed application must contain: 

• your full name, date of birth, home address, and social security number 
• a physical description and a brief history of your physical and mental condition 
• information about your driving experience and record 

 PROOF OF RESIDENCY   PROOF OF IDENTIFICATION  
If you are eighteen years old or older and are 
applying for an original license, you must show 

• TWO pieces of documentation to prove you 
live in this state. (If you are under twenty- 
one years old, you may use documentation 
for your parent’s residence.) 

Each proof of residency must contain a physical 
address. No post office box numbers will be 
accepted. Acceptable proofs of residency include, 
but are not limited to, items such as: electric bill, 
water bill, or bank statement (no blank checks); 
lease or rent agreement or mortgage papers; 
notarized letter from employer stating address of 
applicant and including employer’s telephone 
number; Mississippi driver’s license of parent or 
guardian (if applicant under twenty-one years of 
age). 

 SIGNATURES  
You must sign your application after completing 
it. If you make a false statement on the 
application, your driving privileges may be 
suspended. 
If you are under seventeen years old, your 
application for a permit or license must include the 
signature of both of your parents (if both are living 
and both have legal custody of you). If both parents 
are not living or do not have legal custody of you, 
your application must include the signature of your 
legal guardian or your employer. 
If you do not have a custodial parent, legal 
guardian, or employer, your application must be 
signed by a responsible adult who is willing to 
assume the obligations imposed on them by law. 

Two proofs of identification are required before a 
license or permit can be issued: 

• SOCIAL SECURITY CARD 
(If you no longer have your social 
security card, you must obtain a new 
one.) 

• CERTIFIED BIRTH CERTIFICATE 
 

(If you currently hold a driver’s license from 
another state, you must also provide the out-of- 
state license or a lost license affidavit.) 

 
 CERTIFICATION OF ATTENDANCE  
If you are under eighteen years old, you must 
provide proof of your enrollment in school. 
Request a Certification of Attendance form from 
your school. This form must not be over thirty 
days old. If you are home-schooled, obtain a 
blank Certification of Attendance from the 
Department of Public Safety website. Your 
parents’ signature must be on this form. If you are 
under eighteen years old and are married, you 
may show a marriage license instead of a School 
Certification of Attendance. 

 DRIVER'S EDUCATION  
Beginning July 1, 2027, you must provide signed 
documentation showing the completion of a 
Driver’s Education and Training Program certified 
the State Board of Education or the Department of 
Public Safety. 

 

 

Whomever signs your application will be liable for your negligence or willful misconduct and must have 
their signature NOTARIZED. Any person who signs your application may later file a verified written 

request that your license or permit be cancelled. 

https://www.driverservicebureau.dps.ms.gov/
https://www.driverservicebureau.dps.ms.gov/sites/default/files/2023-10/2023.10.20%20School%20Attendance%20Form.pdf
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THE EXAMINATION 
Before you can be issued an original Mississippi driver’s license, you must meet three 
requirements: pass the Vision Exam, pass the Computerized Exam, and provide the Affidavit 
from a parent, teacher, or guardian certifying that he or she has witnessed you operate a 
motor vehicle for at least fifty hours and attesting to your proficiency in the proper and safe 
operation of a motor vehicle. 

Beginning July 1, 2027, you will also have to provide documentation showing completion of 
a certified Driver's Education course. 
The exam is designed to answer the following questions: 

 
• Do you know the Mississippi traffic laws and rules of safe driving? 
• Can you read, understand, and follow signs and signals? 
• Are you a safe and skillful driver? 
• Do you understand and have the proper attitude toward the rights of 

pedestrians and other drivers? 
• Do you understand how to keep your vehicle in safe condition? 
• Are you physically and mentally capable of driving safely? 

 
 

 
The Computerized Exam is based on the 
information in this manual. It especially 
focuses on Mississippi traffic laws, safe 
driving rules, and driver’s license 
requirements. To prepare for the exam, 
study this manual carefully. 

 VISION EXAM  

Your eyes will be checked to make sure you 
see well enough to drive safely. 

 

  

COMPUTERIZED EXAM 

 
If you are under the care of a physician for any reason, a certificate concerning your 
physical or mental condition may be required before you take your examinations. 

 
 

What if I fail the Vision Exam? 
If your eye test indicates that you may need 

glasses, you must have your eyes tested by an 
eye specialist or optometrist. You will be given a 
vision form (DE26) to be filled out by your eye 

specialist or optometrist. 

 
 

What if I am reading impaired? 
If you are reading impaired, have someone teach 

you the contents of this manual. The 
Computerized Exam includes a headset, and the 

machine will read the questions and answers 
aloud for you. 
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REMEMBER: Safe driving takes common sense, courtesy, and self-control. 

Always drive defensively. Always treat pedestrians and other drivers with the 
same respect you want them to show you. 

COMMON TERMS 

computerized exam- a multiple-choice question test you must pass as one of the 
requirements for a Mississippi driver’s license 

highway- every roadway or place of travel, including the streets of municipalities 

intersection- the place where roads come together or cross (crosswalks are counted as 
part of the intersection) 

motor vehicle- an automobile, motorcycle, or other kind of vehicle which is run by an 
engine or motor in the vehicle itself (except vehicles on rails, electric bicycles, golf carts, 
and low-speed vehicles) 

non-resident- any person who does not live in Mississippi 

operator- any person who is driving a motor vehicle on the highway 

right of way- the privilege of the immediate use of the highway 

school bus- every vehicle owned by a public or governmental agency, or privately owned 
and operated for compensation, for the transportation of children to and from school 

stop- complete cessation of movement 

traffic- pedestrians, ridden or herded animals, vehicles, streetcars, and other conveyances, 
either singularly or together, while using any highway for the purpose of travel 
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VEHICLE EQUIPMENT 

Your vehicle must be equipped as follows: 

 
BRAKES 
Your vehicle must have a foot brake AND a parking brake. The foot brake must be strong enough to 
stop the vehicle within thirty feet at a speed of twenty miles per hour. The parking brake must be 
strong enough to stop the vehicle within fifty-five feet at twenty miles per hour. 

 
HORN 
Your vehicle must have a horn which can be heard two hundred feet away. It is against the law to 
have any siren or exhaust or spark whistle on a vehicle. Noise making devices are illegal. 

 
LIGHTS 
Your vehicle must have two headlights [one for a motorcycle] and at least one taillight. 
The lights must meet the following standards: 

• It is recommended that with your headlights you should be able to see a person five 
hundred feet ahead under good weather conditions at night. 

• The taillight on your vehicle must be red and must be visible five hundred feet behind you. 

In addition to two headlights, your vehicle may have no more than one spotlight and no more than 
three auxiliary lights. It is against the law for any of these lights to be either red or blue. At no time 
should you have more than four lights (not including headlights) burning at once. 

MUFFLER 
The muffler on your vehicle must be in good working order and must operate constantly to prevent 
excessive or unusual noise and annoying smoke. No person shall use a muffler cutout, bypass, or a 
similar device on their vehicle. 

 
REARVIEW MIRROR 
Mississippi law does not require you to have a rearview mirror, but it is recommended for you to 
have one. (If you drive a truck with a body that blocks your view of the road behind, you are 
required by law to have a side mirror.) 

 
WINDSHIELD WIPERS 
Windshield wipers must work. 

TIRES 
Your tires must be properly inflated, have good tread, and be free of breaks, cuts, and decay. 
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SQUATTED VEHICLE LAW 
 
 

 
It shall be unlawful for any person to drive a passenger motor vehicle on the streets or 
highways of Mississippi if, by alteration of the suspension, frame or chassis, the height of 
the front fender is raised four or more inches greater than the height of the rear fender. 

 

• The height of the fender shall be a vertical measurement from, and perpendicular 
to, the ground, through the centerline of the wheel, and to the bottom of the 
fender. 

• "Fender" means the pressed and formed part mounted over the road wheels of a 
motor vehicle to reduce the splashing of mud, water or similar substances. 

• "Squatted vehicles" means vehicles whose front fenders have been raised four or 
more inches greater than the rear fenders. The described modification makes a 
vehicle appear as if it is "squatting" on its back tires. 
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SAFETY TIP: Before driving, use a tire pressure gauge to check tire pressure. Your tire pressure should 
match the recommended pounds per square inch (PSI) located in the vehicle owner's manual or the 
driver's side door jamb of the vehicle. 
Once a month, or before any long road trip, check 
your tires for wear and damage problems. 
To check for appropriate tire tread, use the penny test: 

1. Take a penny and hold Abraham Lincoln's body 
between your thumb and forefinger. 

2. Select a point on your tire where the tread appears to be 
lowest and place Lincoln's head into one of the grooves. 

If any part of Lincoln's head is covered by the tread, you are driving with a safe amount of tread. If the 
tread is below that, your car's ability to grip the road in adverse conditions is greatly reduced. 

SAFE DRIVING BASICS 
Driving is one of the riskiest tasks that you will do during your lifetime. 

The safety and well-being of many other people will depend on your calm and responsible behavior as a 
driver.  

 Vision  

Good vision is important for safe driving.If you cannot see clearly, you will have trouble identifying traffic 
and roadway conditions, spotting potential trouble, and responding to problems in a timely manner. 

 
If you are required to wear corrective lenses: 

• Always wear them when driving. 
• Avoid using dark or tinted corrective lenses at night. 

 Fatigue  

Fatigue is physical or mental tiredness that can be caused by physical or mental strain, repetitive tasks, 
illness, or lack of sleep. Fatigue can affect your vision and increase the time it takes you to make 

decisions. Avoid driving if you are tired or fatigued. 

• Getting adequate sleep—most people need 7 to 9 hours to maintain proper alertness during the 
day. 

• Plan to stop about every 100 miles or 2 hours during long trips. 
• Arrange for a travel companion. 
• Check the labels of your medications and be aware if they cause drowsiness. 
• Do not use alcohol or other drugs when driving. 
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BEFORE YOU DRIVE 
To prepare to drive, you should: 

• Make certain you have your driver’s license. State law requires drivers to present a driver’s 
license upon request. 

• Adjust your seat to a comfortable position so that you can reach the wheel and pedals easily. 
• Fasten your seat belt. 
• Adjust the rearview mirror so that you can see the roadway behind. 
• Adjust your sideview mirrors as well. 

 While You Drive  
Two Hands on the Wheel 
Both hands should be placed on the outside of the steering wheel on opposite sides, at the 3 and 9 
o’clock positions, to maintain control of the vehicle. Placing your hands at 2 and 10 o’clock positions is 
no longer recommended because it can be dangerous in a vehicle equipped with airbags. Your grip on 
the steering wheel should be firm but gentle. Use your fingers instead of the palms of your hands and 
keep your thumbs up along the face of the steering wheel. Never turn the wheel while gripping it from 
the inside of the steering wheel. 

Pay careful attention to the following: 
• Children: They may act without thinking, especially when playing with or chasing a ball. Slow down 

and proceed with caution around schools, playgrounds, residential areas, and other areas where 
children may be walking, bicycling, or playing. 

• Bicyclists: Do not assume any cyclist has training in bicycle safety. 
• Cars parked on the side of the street: The door might open and obstruct your lane. 
• Signals that other vehicle(s) may be pulling out into the flow of traffic. 
• Sudden turns and stops by other drivers. 
• Reckless drivers: Get out of their way if possible. 

 
While Driving Long Distances 

• Take a break every one hundred miles. 
• Do not follow the same vehicle or group of vehicles for long periods. You may become too 

relaxed and lose your concentration. 
• Keep your eyes moving to avoid going to sleep at the wheel. 
• Keep the interior of your car as cool as possible. 
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Do not use cell phones for phone calls or 
texting while driving. 

 AVOIDING DISTRACTIONS  
A distraction is anything that takes your attention away from driving. Distracted driving can cause 
crashes resulting in injury, death, or property damage. Taking your eyes off the road or hands off the 
steering wheel presents obvious driving risks. Mental activities that take your mind away from 
driving are just as dangerous. 

 

 
 Cellphone Use  

Drivers distracted by cellphones cause thousands of accidents each year. If you must make a 
phone call while driving. A hands-free device is recommended. 

Texting on your cellphone while driving is not allowed. 

Writing, sending or reading text messages is not allowed. 

Reading or posting to a social networking site using a hand-held mobile telephone is not 
allowed. 

• Hand-held mobile telephone- a mobile telephone or other portable electronic 
communication device with which a user engages in a call or writes, sends, or reads a text 
message using at least one hand. The term "hand-held mobile telephone" shall not 
include a voice-operated or hands-free device. 

• Motor vehicle- a vehicle driven or drawn by mechanical power and manufactured 
primarily for use on public highways. 

• Social networking sites- any web-based service that allows individuals to construct a 
profile within a founded system, articulate a list of other users with whom they share a 
connection, and communicate with other users of the site. 

• Text messages- include a text-based message, instant message, electronic message, and 
email, but shall not include an emergency, traffic, or weather alert or a message related 
to the operation or navigation of the motor vehicle. 

• Voice operated or hands-free device- a device that allows the user to write, send, or read 
a text message without the use of either hand except to activate, deactivate, or initiate a 
feature or function. 

• Writing, sending, and reading- the manual entry, sending, or retrieval of a text message, 
respectively, to communicate with any person or device. 
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REMEMBER: 
You are responsible for operating your vehicle in a safe manner. 

Emotional Distractions: 

If you are preoccupied with personal problems, you may become too distracted to handle your 
vehicle safely. Domestic quarrels, financial concerns, or illnesses can cause distractions which 
make accidents more likely. If you have just had an argument or are worried, ill, angry, 
frightened, or grief-stricken, let someone else drive. 

• Avoid arguments and stressful or emotional conversations with passengers. 

• Avoid eating while driving. 
 

• Be sure children are properly and safely buckled up. 
 

• Properly secure pets in a pet carrier or portable kennel. 
 

• Avoid using Headphones and Loud Music. Never wear stereo headphones while you 
drive, and never play your car stereo or radio loudly while driving. You may be unable to 
hear warning signals such as whistles and sirens. 

Visual Obstructions & Other Distractions: 

• Your windshield must be free of any signs or unofficial stickers. 

• Vehicles may not have signs, posters, stickers, or glass material that cause a mirrored 
effect on the windows. 

• Avoid hanging decorative items from your rearview mirror. 

• Keep the front seat clear of objects that can fall during sudden movement. 
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PAVEMENT MARKINGS 
The pavement on all main highways is marked to help you drive safely. These markings include center 
lines, lane lines, and directional arrows. Their placement depends upon the type of highway and the 
traffic conditions. You must observe and comply with these markings. 

 LANE LINES, CENTER LINES, & BARRIER LINES  
 
 

 

A broken yellow line 
separates traffic lanes 
that move in the 
opposite directions. 

Crossing into the 
oncoming lane is 
permissible ONLY for 
passing and only when it 
is safe to pass. 

A broken white line 
means travel in the same 
direction is permitted on 

both sides of the line. 

A vehicle may cross the 
line to change lanes 

when it is safe to do so. 

 
 
 
 
 

A broken yellow line next 
to a solid yellow line 
separates traffic lanes that 
move in opposite 
directions. 

If the broken line is closest 
to your lane, you may pass 
with caution. If the solid 
line is closest to your lane, 
passing is forbidden. 

 

 
A double, solid yellow 
line separates travel 
lanes moving in 
opposite directions. 

Passing from either 
side of a double yellow 
line is PROHIBITED. 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 

A double, solid white 
line means travel in the 

same direction is 
permitted on both 

sides of the line. 

Crossing a double white 
line is PROHIBITED. 

 

 

A single, solid white 
line means travel in 
the same direction is 

permitted on both sides 
of the line.  

Crossing a single white 
line is discouraged. 
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 DIRECTIONAL ARROWS  
Pavement arrows mark the direction of traffic movement. When you approach intersections marked by 
directional arrows, look for the arrow that marks the lane you want to follow. If you get in the wrong lane, 
keep going in that lane until it is safe to turn off and get back on the correct street or highway. 

 

An arrow pointing to the 
left means you MUST 
turn left if you travel in 
this lane. 

 
 
 

 
ONLY 

ONLY 
ONLY 

 
 

A straight arrow means 
you MUST continue 
straight if you travel in this 
lane. 

An arrow pointing to the 
right means you MUST 
turn right if you travel in 
this lane. 

 
 

A two-headed 
arrow that 
points both 
straight AND to 
the left means 
that you may 
continue 
straight OR 
turn to the left 
if you travel in 
this lane. 

A two-headed 
arrow that 
points both 
straight AND to 
the right 
means that you 
may continue 
straight OR 
turn to the 
right if you 
travel in this 

 
 
 

 
The center lane above is painted to 
indicate TURN LANE ONLY. A vehicle 
may use this lane ONLY in preparation 
to turn left or right across the 
opposite lanes. The turn lane is NEVER 
used for passing. 

 CROSSWALKS  

Painted crosswalks are placed at intersections 
and at other locations where there is regular 
pedestrian traffic. 

Approach crosswalks with care. Never stop 
your car on any part of a crosswalk. 

Pedestrians using crosswalks should check in 
both directions before crossing the street. 
However, drivers must always yield to 
pedestrians in crosswalks—even if the 
crosswalk is not marked. 
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TRAFFIC SIGNS AND SIGNALS 
You must be able to recognize and obey traffic signs and signals. The U.S. is currently converting to an 
international style, which uses pictures and symbols rather than words. This change will be gradual: 
New designs will be accompanied by word messages until the public is familiar with them. 

 STANDARD SHAPES AND COLORS  
Signs have eight standard shapes and eight standard colors. Each one has a specific meaning. 

 

RED: Stop. If you see red on 
a traffic device, STOP. 

 
GREEN: Directional guidance 
and permitted movement. 

OCTAGON: Exclusively for STOP signs. 
 
 

 
HORIZONTAL RECTANGLE: 
Usually for guide signs. 

 

 
YELLOW: General warning. EQUILATERAL TRIANGLE: 

Exclusively for YIELD signs. 
 
 

BLUE: Motorist services 
guidance. 

PENNANT: Warning of 
NO PASSING ZONE ahead. 

 
 

 

 
BLACK: Regulation. 

DIAMOND: Exclusively to warn of 
existing or possible hazard on or 
adjacent to roadway. 

 

 
WHITE: Regulation. VERTICAL RECTANGLE: Usually used for 

regulatory signs (such as speed limits). 
 
 
 
 

ORANGE: Construction or 
maintenance warning. 

PENTAGON: School crossing signs and 
warning of school zones ahead. 

 
 

BROWN: Public recreation 
and scenic guidance. 

ROUND: Warning of railroad crossing 
ahead. 
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 REGULATORY SIGNS  
 

 

The STOP sign is the 
only sign with eight 
sides. It requires you 
to come to a 
COMPLETE STOP 
before entering an 
intersection. After 
stopping, you MUST 
yield to any traffic 
close enough to be a 
hazard. 

The DO NOT ENTER sign might 
include the words “do not enter,” 
or it might only include the white 
bar across the red circle 
background. Either way, it means 
you may not enter this lane of 
travel. 

The WRONG WAY 
sign tells you that 
you are traveling in 
the opposite 
direction from the 
other cars in your 
lane. 
You are in danger 
of causing a head- 
on collision. You 
must leave the 
roadway and turn 
around as soon as 
possible. 

 
 

 

   
  

This sign means 
no LEFT turns 
are allowed at 
this intersection. 

This sign means 
no RIGHT turns 
are allowed at 
this intersection. 

This sign means 
YOU MAY NOT 
TURN AROUND in 
an intersection, in 
the center of a 
street, or in a high- 
way median. 

 
 
 
This sign means NO TRUCKS 
are allowed on this street or 
highway. 

Usually, if a traffic signal is red, 
you may turn right AFTER you 
stop completely and make sure 
the way is clear. However, 
signs like these mean RIGHT 
TURNS ARE NEVER ALLOWED 
while the traffic signal is red. 
You must wait for the green 
light to turn right. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The YIELD right-of- 
way sign is an 
equilateral 
triangle. It means 
you MUST let 
other vehicles on 
the roadway have 
the right-of-way. 
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 REGULATORY SIGNS  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

This sign means This sign means 
KEEP LEFT. KEEP RIGHT. 

This sign 
means you 
MUST TURN 

LEFT. 

This sign 
means you 
MUST TURN 

RIGHT. 
 

 

 

 

 

This sign means you may ONLY 
TRAVEL IN THE DIRECTION OF 

THE ARROW. 
 
 
 

 

This sign designates HANDICAPPED 
PARKING ONLY. Parking is only allowed for 
vehicles with an official indicator such as a 
handicap license tag or temporary hangtag. 
For information on obtaining a handicap tag, 
contact your County Tax Collector's Office. 

 
This sign indicates 
the MAXIUM SPEED 
ALLOWED under 
ideal driving 
conditions. 

 
 

 
This sign means you may ONLY 
use the center lane TO MAKE 
TURNS. The center lane is not 
available for normal travel or 

passing. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
This sign means that crossing 
into another lane to pass a 
vehicle is PROHIBITED. 
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 WARNING SIGNS  
 

 

TRAFFIC SIGNAL 
ahead. 

 

INTERSECTION / 
CROSSROADS ahead. 

 

RIGHT LANE ENDS. 
Merge to left. 

STOP ahead. 
 

 

“T” INTERSECTION 
ahead. 

 

LEFT LANE ENDS. 
Merge to right. 

YIELD ahead. 
 

 

SIDE ROAD ahead (on 
right). 

 

ACCESS LANE/RAMP 
MERGES INTO ROAD- 

WAY (from right). 

RAILROAD COSSING 
ahead. 

 

SIDE ROAD enters 
from angle ahead. 

 

NEW LANE ENTERS 
ROADWAY. (No merging 

necessary.) 
 

 

    
 

TWO-WAY TRAFFIC. DIVIDED HIGHWAY 
ahead. 

DIVIDED HIGHWAY 
ENDS; TWO-WAY 
TRAFFIC ahead. 

TRAFFIC CIRCLE / 
ROUNDABOUT 

ahead. 



31  

 WARNING SIGNS  
 

 

SHARP TURN (left) 
ahead. 

CURVE (left) ahead. WINDING ROAD ahead. The road is 
SLIPPERY 
WHEN WET. 

 
 
 

   
 

SCHOOL CROSSING: This sign 
warns that children must cross 
the street on their way to and 
from school. The sign is 
sometimes located several blocks 
from the school. 

SCHOOL ZONE: Fifteen miles 
per hour when passing a school 
during recess or while children 
are arriving at or leaving school 
during opening/closing hours. 

PEDESTRIAN CROSSING. 
Remember that pedestrians 
have the right of way at 
intersections, whether the 
crosswalk is marked or not. 

 
 
 
 

  
 

If traveling in a lane marked with this sign you 
MUST CONTINUE ONTO THE EXIT. 

This sign often accompanies a STOP sign at an 
intersection. It tells you that although you must 
stop for your stop sign, this is NOT a four-way 
stop. Other traffic lanes have the right of way 
and will not stop. 
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 GUIDE SIGNS  
 

ROUTE MARKERS 
 

 

Interstate Route 
(Interstate Highway) 

United States Route 
(US Highway) 

State Route 
(State Highway) 

 
 

 

 

Auxiliary Markers 
 
 
 

DESTINATION, DIRECTION, and DISTANCE MARKERS 

These signs indicate travel distance to towns and cities. 
 

For example, from the sign on the right, Hattiesburg is 3 miles ahead while Jackson 
is 93 miles ahead. 

 

 

This sign indicates a place 
where you may exit an 

interstate highway. 

You would use this lane to 
access US Highway 59 

North, toward Hattiesburg. 

You would use one of these 
lanes to access Interstate 55 

North toward Jackson. 
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Give construction workers a “brake.” Reduce your speed in work zones and be 
prepared to stop suddenly. Do not tailgate in work zones. 

 WORK ZONE SIGNS  

These are generally diamond or rectangular shaped or orange with black letters or symbols. These 
construction, maintenance, or emergency operation signs alert you to work zones ahead and warn 
you that people are working on or near the roadway. These warnings include workers ahead, 
reduced speed, detours, slow-moving construction equipment, and poor or suddenly changing 
surfaces. 

 

 

FLAGGER 
AHEAD 

WORKERS 
AHEAD 

ROAD 
CONSTRUCTION 

AHEAD 

ONE LANE 
ROAD 

AHEAD 

DETOUR 

In work zones, traffic may be controlled by a person with a sign or 
flag to tell you which direction to travel or to slow down to stop. 
You must follow their instructions. 

 
Barriers, such as drums, cones, and tubes (panels), are used to keep 
traffic out of hazardous work zones. Along with signs and road 
markings, barriers guide you safely through the work zone. Barriers 
may be used to keep drivers from entering closed roads or other 
areas where it is dangerous to drive. Temporary traffic signals may 
be used in work zones. You may see a warning sign showing a 
symbol of a traffic signal. Stop at the white line, if present. 

 

 
BARREL CONE TUBE BARRIER ROAD CLOSED 
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 SLOW-MOVING VEHICLES  
 

This emblem identifies SLOW-MOVING VEHICLES (vehicles 
that travel twenty-five miles per hour or less). Watch 

carefully for these vehicles both day and night 
 
 
 

Be alert for slow moving vehicles, especially in rural areas. A fluorescent or reflective orange 
and red triangle displayed on the rear of vehicles drawn by animals, farm equipment, or 

construction equipment means the vehicle is traveling less than 25 mph. Use caution when 
approaching a slow-moving vehicle and be sure it is safe before you pass. 

 
 

 
Farm machinery—Watch for tractors, combines, and other farm equipment moving across the road and 
traveling on state highways in rural areas. Pass with caution and remember that the operator of the farm 
machinery may not hear approaching vehicles. 

 

Animal-drawn vehicles and horseback riders—In some rural areas, you may be sharing the road with 
animal drawn vehicles and horseback riders. They have the same rights to use the road as a motor vehicle 
and must follow the same rules of the road.They are subject to heavy damage and injury to the occupants if 
hit by a vehicle. Pass with caution. Do not use your horn or “rev” the engine because this may scare the 
horse and cause a crash.To avoid other possible crashes, you should anticipate left turns made by animal- 
drawn vehicles into fields and driveways.Warning signs will be posted in areas where you are likely to find 
animal-drawn vehicles and horseback riders. Be alert. 
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RAILROAD CROSSINGS 
Always be especially alert at railroad crossings. The approaches to public railroad crossings are usually 
marked with warning signs and pavement markings. The crossings themselves are marked with one or 
more of the following. 

 
Pavement markings warn and direct drivers and 
regulate traffic. In front of railroad crossings, the 
pavement is marked with a large X and two R’s. A 

solid yellow line is used to prevent passing in 
advance of the crossing, and a white line is painted 

on each side of the track. 
 
 
 
 

 

This round yellow sign, with a 
black “cross buck” and two R’s, 

means a railroad crossing is 
ahead. In rural 

areas, this sign is normally posted 
500 to 900 feet in front of the 

tracks. It tells you to look, listen, 
and slow down because you may 

have to stop. 

 
 
 
 

This white “cross buck” sign is 
posted at most railroad crossings. 
If there is more than one track, the 

number of tracks is shown on a 
sign below the cross buck. 

Flashing light signals are used 
with the “cross buck” sign at many 
railroad crossings. ALWAYS STOP 
when the lights begin to flash. The 

lights mean a train is coming. 
Remain STOPPED until the lights 

stop flashing. Then you can 
proceed safely. 

 

 

 
Gates are used with flashing light 
signals at some crossings. ALWAYS 

STOP when the lights begin to 
flash before the gates lower across 

your side of the tracks. Remain 
STOPPED until the gates are raised 

and the lights stop flashing. 

 

 
Regardless of signage and whether lights are flashing, the following MUST STOP at 
ALL RAILROAD CROSSINGS: a SCHOOL BUS carrying even one child, a VEHICLE FOR 
HIRE carrying passengers, or a vehicle carrying EXPLOSIVES OR FLAMMABLE 
LIQUIDS. These vehicles MUST STOP within fifty to ten feet of the outer rail of any 
crossing. After coming to a complete stop, the driver must check both directions for 
any approaching train before proceeding. 
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IF YOU ARE STUCK ON THE TRACKS, GET OUT OF YOUR VEHICLE! 
If your vehicle is physically on the train tracks at a grade crossing and the lights begin to flash, you 
may only have 20 seconds to escape before the train makes it to your location. Twenty seconds is 
the minimal amount of time that it takes a train to reach the grade crossing once the warning lights 
activate. If this happens to you, remember the word “GO,” as in GET OUT of your vehicle! Once 
outside, run in a 45-degree angle away from the tracks in the direction that the train is coming, then 
immediately dial 911. 

If you are stuck on the tracks, and there are NO WARNING LIGHTS, or the warning lights HAVE NOT 
ACTIVATED, GET OUT of your vehicle and immediately dial 911 and the ENS (Emergency 
Notification System) number located on the blue sign described above. Provide the location, 
crossing number (if posted), and the road or highway that intersects the tracks. Be sure to specify 
that a vehicle is on the tracks! 

REMEMBER! 
ALL drivers must ALWAYS STOP WITHIN fifty 
to ten feet of the outer rail of any railroad 
crossing when you see ANY of the following: 

• a lowered crossing gate, a flashing 
electric signal, a posted STOP sign, 

• a flag person giving you a signal, or 
• a rapidly approaching train. 

You MUST stop even if you do not see a train. 

You must remain stopped until all tracks are 
clear, any gates are raised, and lights no longer 
flash. It is against the law to drive around 
any lowered gates at a crossing. Use common 
sense at any railroad crossing. Watch for 
vehicles that must stop whether or not a train 
is coming. Do not shift gears as you drive 
across tracks. Always check carefully for a 
second train following close behind the first. 
STAY ALERT AT ALL TIMES AND NEVER TRY TO 
“BEAT” A TRAIN. If a traffic officer directs you 
to proceed over a railroad crossing, follow the 
order immediately. 

 
IF A VEHICLE BECOMES STRANDED ON A RAILROAD TRACK, OR 
IF YOU NOTICE A DANGEROUS SITUATION ON OR NEAR A 
RAILROAD CROSSING, look for the blue Emergency Notification 
System (ENS) sign situated at every highway-rail grade crossing. 
The sign is located on the black and white cross buck or on the 
metal box near the crossing. The toll-free number is answered 
by railroad dispatchers who can attempt to stop all train traffic 
at the crossing during an emergency. The sign also includes an 
identification number for your exact location. By following the 
information on the sign, you can report unsafe conditions such 
as: 

1. malfunctions of warning signals, crossing gates, and 
other safety devices at the crossings 

2. disabled cars, trucks, or other vehicles blocking the 
railroad tracks at the crossings 

3. the presence of trespassers on the tracks or along the 
right of way at the crossing 

4. any other information relating to an unsafe condition at 
the crossing. 
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TRAFFIC SIGNAL LIGHTS 
 

 

A SOLID RED LIGHT means you must 
make a complete stop and remain 
stopped until the light turns green. 

EXCEPTION: You may turn right while the 
light is red. But first, you must STOP 

COMPLETELY and yield to other traffic and 
pedestrians. You may NOT turn on red if a 
sign prohibits you. Before turning right on 
red you MUST first stop completely: Only 

yielding before turning is not enough and is 
illegal. 

 
A SOLID YELLOW LIGHT 

means the light will soon 
turn red. Slow down and 

prepare to stop. 

If a green light turns yellow 
as you are approaching, slow 
down and prepare to stop. 

A SOLID GREEN LIGHT means 
you may go if it is safe to do 

so. You must yield to any 
pedestrians and to any traffic 
already in the intersection. 

EXCEPTION: If you are turning 
left, the solid green light means 
you must YIELD TO ONCOMING 

TRAFFIC. 

 

 
  

 

A GREEN ARROW means you 
may turn in the direction of the 
arrow if you are in the proper 

lane. Oncoming traffic will have 
a red light when your turn arrow 

is green, giving you a 
protected turn. 

A YELLOW FLASHING ARROW 
means you may turn in the 
direction of the arrow if you 
are in the proper lane. You 
must YIELD TO ONCOMING 

TRAFFIC. 
Oncoming traffic will have a 

green light when your turn 
arrow is flashing, so you do 
NOT have a protected turn. 

A YELLOW SOLID ARROW 
is the same as a SOLID 

YELLOW LIGHT. It indicates that 
the light is about to change to 

red. 
Slow down and prepare to 

stop. 

 

 

REMEMBER: ANY TIME you travel through an intersection, you must YIELD TO PEDESTRIANS. You 
must also YIELD TO ANY TRAFFIC ALREADY IN THE INTERSECTION. 
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Some TRAFFIC SIGNALS direct a traffic lane (or two side-by-side lanes) from which you may 
travel straight OR turn left. All guidelines for yielding to traffic and pedestrians still apply. 

 
 

 

 

RED LIGHT: You must stop. You 
may NOT turn left, and you may 

NOT continue straight. 

GREEN ARROW: You may turn 
left from turn lane. 

+ 
RED LIGHT: You may NOT 

continue straight through the 
intersection. You must stop and 

wait. 

GREEN ARROW: You may turn 
left from turn lane. 

+ 
GREEN LIGHT: You may continue 
straight through the intersection. 

 
 

 

 

YELLOW ARROW: Use caution. 
The signal is transitioning from 
a green arrow (protected turn) 
to an unprotected turn or to a 

red light. 

GREEN LIGHT: You may travel 
straight. You may turn left only 

if the way is clear. This is an 
unprotected turn, and you 

must YIELD to oncoming traffic. 

YELLOW LIGHT: Use caution. 
The signal is transitioning from 
green to red. Slow down and 

prepare to stop. 

 
 

 
 

REMEMBER: For left turns, the yellow flashing arrow and the solid green light mean the same 
thing: YIELD TO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. 
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A FLASHING RED LIGHT 
means you must STOP 

completely and proceed with 
caution, yielding to the right-of- 

way at intersections. 
 

A FLASHING YELLOW LIGHT 
means you must SLOW DOWN 

and exercise caution. 
 
 

Sometimes you will encounter a traffic light that is malfunctioning. 
 

 

If you approach a 
malfunctioning traffic 
light with FLASHING 
YELLOW LIGHTS, you 
should SLOW DOWN 
and exercise caution 
before crossing the 

intersection. 

If you approach a 
malfunctioning traffic light 
with a NO FUNCTIONING 
LIGHTS, you must STOP 

completely and proceed with 
caution, following rules or 

yielding right of way at 
intersections. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

REMEMBER: ANY TIME you travel through an intersection, you must 
YIELD TO PEDESTRIANS. You must also YIELD TO ANY TRAFFIC ALREADY 

IN THE INTERSECTION. 
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 LANE DIRECTION CONTROL  
Some traffic lanes are marked by signals that indicate which lanes are available for use. For example, in 
the image below, the far-right lane is CLOSED. The far left and middle lanes are OPEN. When signals like 
these are in use, you may travel ONLY in a lane marked by a green light. NEVER travel in a lane marked 
with a red light. 

 
 

 
 TRAFFIC OFFICERS  
Traffic signs and signals help control the movement of traffic and prevent accidents. You should always follow them 
UNLESS an officer is directing traffic. If officers are directing traffic, you MUST follow their directions. An officer will 
usually signal you to stop by holding up one hand, palm toward you, and then giving a long blast on the whistle. The 
officer will usually signal you to start or to continue by motioning with one hand and giving a series of short blasts on 
the whistle. At night an officer may signal with a flashlight. 

 PEDESTRIAN CROSSING  

  
These signs mean pedestrians 

may leave the curb and cross the 
street. 

These signs mean pedestrians 
may NOT leave the curb. 

 
 
 
 

 
If the sign is flashing, pedestrians MUST NOT LEAVE THE CURB. 

Pedestrians should continue crossing if they began to cross the intersection 
before the sign changed to flashing. 

Pedestrians using crosswalks should check both ways before crossing the street. 
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The maximum speed for any vehicle in a SCHOOL ZONE is 15 mph. 

The maximum speed for a SCHOOL BUS while transporting children to and from 
school on regular routes is 45 mph. 

The maximum speed for a SCHOOL BUS while on the interstate is 65 mph. 

Speed makes accidents, especially fatal accidents, more likely. If 
you hit a stone wall at 40 mph, the impact is the same as if you 

drove off a four-story building. 

 

 
LEGAL SPEEDS 

The speed limits below usually apply. However, speed limits may change for a variety of reasons. 
Always monitor the posted speed limit signs and glance frequently at your speedometer. You 
should always know how fast you are traveling. Use common sense when driving. Adjust your 
speed based on the situation and conditions. Reduce speed on curves, when approaching 
intersections, when on a narrow or twisting road, or when traffic is congested. If the weather or 
visibility is poor, slow down accordingly. Posted speed limits are intended for ideal conditions. 

 
 

SPEED LIMITS FOR PASSENGER AUTOMOBILES 
(including 1/2-ton trucks, unloaded) 

 

 

ROADWAY TYPE MAXIMUM SPEED MINIMUM SPEED 

Interstates 70 mph 40 mph 

Four-lane Highways (State & U.S.) 65 mph 40 mph 

Two-lane Highways (State & U.S.) 55 mph 

Natchez Trace Parkway 50 mph 
 

 

 

 

 

 

RULES OF THE ROAD & SAFE DRIVING 
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SIGNAL LIGHTS 
Use your vehicle’s signal lights (“blinkers”) to alert other drivers each time you intend to turn, 
change lanes, pass, or enter or exit a parallel parking space. The best way to notify other drivers 
that you intend to turn or pass is to use your signal lights well in advance. 

If the vehicle ahead of you signals for a turn, activate your signal ONLY IF YOU ALSO INTEND TO 
TURN. Do not signal to warn others that the vehicle in front of you is turning. 

 
Do not use your left signal to let a vehicle behind you know it is safe to pass. The driver behind you 
is responsible for determining whether it is safe to pass. 
 

ARM SIGNALS 
 

Arm Signals are used by bicyclists, motorists whose signal lights are malfunctioning, and drivers of 
some antique vehicles and farm equipment. If you are using arm signals, be sure to extend your arm 
fully and signal continuously for at least one hundred feet before you slow down, turn, stop, or 
change lanes. 

 

 
LEFT TURN: Extend your arm and hand straight out. This signal is 
also used when changing from the right lane to the left lane or 
when starting from a parallel parking position. 

 
 
 

RIGHT TURN: Extend your arm and hand upward, with your arm 
bent at the elbow. This signal is also used when changing from the 
left lane to the right lane or when preparing to enter a parallel 
parking space. 

 

 
SLOW DOWN OR STOP: Extend your arm and hand downward, 
with your palm facing the rear. 
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FOLLOWING

Following too closely to another vehicle 
is dangerous and the main cause of 

rear-end collisions. 

@ 10 
MPH 

leave at 
least ONE 
car length @ 20 

MPH 
leave at 

least 
TWO 

car 
lengths 

@ 30 
MPH 

leave at 
least 

THREE 
car 

lengths 

@ 40 
MPH 

leave at 
least 
FOUR 

car 
lengths 

@ 50 
MPH 

leave at 
least  
FIVE 
car 

lengths 

When you are following another vehicle, allow at least one car length 
between you for every ten miles per hour of speed. This will help give you 
room to slow down or stop if the vehicle in front of you changes speeds 
suddenly. 

It is also important to maintain distance so that you can see around the 
vehicle ahead of you. When you follow a large truck or bus, allow yourself 
even more room. 

If you are taking part in a motorcade, such as a funeral procession, allow 
enough space between you and the next car so that other vehicles may safely 
pull into those spaces. Be careful not to follow too closely. Measure your 
speed against the other vehicles so that everyone is moving along smoothly. 
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Thinking & reaction distance 
(perception) 

 

BRAKING 
The chart below shows the shortest total stopping distances under ideal conditions. If the weather is bad, 
the road is slick, or if you are tired or intoxicated, then the distances will be drastically different. 

The yellow segments show the distance required for thinking prior to activation of brakes. 
 

 

 
The red segments show distance from the application of brakes to stop. 

 Application of brakes  

 
The total distance required for stopping is indicated across the top of each entry. 

 Total distance required to stop  
 
 

The braking distances 
shown here assume 

ideal conditions: good 
tires, good brakes, 
and dry pavement. 
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Which lane should I drive in? 

If you drive on a street or 
highway with more than one 
lane for your direction, drive 
in the extreme RIGHT lane 
except to pass or turn left. 
(If there is no designated 

turn lane, use the lane next 
to the center for turning 

left.) 

 
On a two-way highway, which pavement markings mean I can 

cross the center line to pass another vehicle? 

You may never cross a double yellow line to pass a vehicle. If 
there is a single, broken, yellow line, you may cross that line for 

passing (if the oncoming lane is clear and it is safe to pass). 
If you are on a highway divided by BOTH one solid yellow line 

AND one broken yellow line, you may cross the lines for passing 
ONLY if the broken yellow line is closest to your travel lane (and 

if the oncoming lane is clear, and it is safe to pass). 

 

You are in a traffic lane whenever you are driving on any street or highway. These lanes may or may 
not be marked, but they exist just the same. A street or highway’s number of lanes corresponds to the 
number of cars (or lines of cars) that could travel on it side-by-side. 

 
One-lane street or highway = room for one car 
Two-lane street or highway = room for two cars 
Three-lane street or highway = room for three cars 
Four-lane street or highway = room for four cars 

If lanes travel in opposite directions, they will be 
separated by pavement markings (lines), barricades, or 
medians. The image on the top right shows a four-lane 
highway divided by double yellow lines. Green arrows 
indicate the direction of travel and are not pavement 
markings. 

 
Some travel lanes have adjacent parking lanes. For 
example, the image on the right shows a two-lane street 
with a parking lane on one side. 

 
NEVER CROSS a double yellow line (not even to pass a 
slow-moving car). You will be driving into oncoming traffic. 

 
Always drive in a single lane. Never change lanes 
unless the movement can be made safely. On a four- 
lane highway, drive in the right lane except when 
passing or preparing to turn left. 

 
 
 

TRAFFIC LANES 
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Use 
this 
lane for 

 

Use this lane 
for overtaking, 
passing, or 
when preparing 
to turn left. 

Use this lane 
for overtaking, 
passing, or 
when preparing 
to turn left. 

 

 

 

Use the center 
turn lane when 

preparing to 
turn left. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Use this 
lane for 
travel. 

Use this 
lane for 
travel. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Use the center 
turn lane when 
preparing to 
turn left. 

LANE USE: 

FOUR LANES OR 

MORE 

Use this 
lane for 
travel. 

Use this 
lane for 
travel. 

Use this lane 
for overtaking, 

passing, or 
preparing 
to turn left. 

Use this lane 
for overtaking, 
passing, or 
preparing 
to turn left. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
TUR
N 
LANE 
ONLY 

LANE USE: 

TWO LANES PLUS 

CENTER TURN LANE 
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PASSING OTHER VEHICLES 
 

 PASSING ON A TWO-LANE HIGHWAY:  
Passing is allowed in some areas of two-lane highways. Pay close attention to the center line markings: 

 

 
SOLID DOUBLE YELLOW LINE 

 
NO PASSING from either 

direction. 

SOLID YELLOW LINE + BROKEN YELLOW LINE 

Vehicle traveling alongside the BROKEN yellow 
line MAY cross the lines to pass. 

Vehicle traveling alongside the SOLID yellow line 
MAY NOT CROSS the lines to pass. 

 See the diagrams on the previous page for examples.  
 

 PASSING ON A FOUR-LANE HIGHWAY OR INTERSTATE:  
It is never legal to move across the center line of a four-lane highway to pass another vehicle. However, 
on interstates and four-lane highways, passing is allowed from both the left and right lanes (traveling in 
the same direction when lanes are divided by a BROKEN WHITE LINE). 

 PASSING ON THE LEFT:  
When you decide to pass another vehicle on the left, be sure that the lane ahead is clear before you 
move. Do not tailgate a vehicle that you intend to pass. Drop back far enough so that you can see around 
it before you try to change lanes. Watch for safe clearance both ahead and behind. Signal your intentions 
before you move into the left lane. Check carefully and move cautiously but quickly into the left lane. Do 
not pull back into the right lane until you are well past the other vehicle. Before moving back into the right 
lane, make sure that you can see the vehicle you passed in your rearview mirror. 

 PASSING ON THE RIGHT:  
You may overtake and pass another vehicle on the right in the following situations: 

• When the vehicle you are passing is making or is about to make a left turn. 

• On an interstate with multiple lanes traveling in your direction. 

• On a four-lane highway of adequate width where there are no obstructions or 
parked cars. 

• On any one-way highway of adequate width. 

If you do pass on the right, do so only when conditions permit you to do so safely. 

 Under no circumstances are you allowed to drive off the pavement or on the shoulder to pass.  

OTHER SAFE PASSING GUIDELINES: 
Do not pass on hills, curves, or within one hundred feet of bridges, viaducts, overpasses, railroad 
crossings, crosswalks, intersections, or any place where your view is obstructed in any way. 

When being passed on a two–lane or three-lane highway, keep to the right. Do not increase your speed 
until the other car has completely passed you. 
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This car may 
cross center 

lines to 
pass. (The 
oncoming 
lane must 
be clear.) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
DOUBLE YELLOW 
LINE means NO 

CARS MAY PASS 
in this area 

(from either 
direction). 

PASSING ON THE 
LEFT: 

TWO-LANE 

HIGHWAY 

This car 
MUST NOT 
PASS 
(because it 
is in the 
travel lane 
closest to 
the solid 
line). 

 
This car MUST 

NOT PASS 
(because the car is 

traveling in the 
lane closest to the 

solid line). 
This car may 
cross center 
lines to pass. 
(The oncoming 
lane must be 
clear.) 
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At times you will have to turn your car into a confined space. To do so safely, follow this procedure: 

1. Start from the extreme right side of the road, give the correct signal, and turn the 
steering wheel sharply to the left while inching forward. 

2. When you have turned the wheels completely to the left, drive slowly forward to within a 
few inches of the left curb or edge of the road. 

3. Then turn sharply to the right while inching backward. When you have turned the wheels 
completely to the right, back slowly to within a few inches of the curb. 

4. Turn your wheels to the left and pull forward. 

Repeat these steps as needed until you have completed the turn. 

TURNING AROUND 

3 

1 
4 

2 
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When approaching an intersection and traffic is 
blocked ahead of you, you should stop before 

reaching the crosswalk and wait for traffic to move. 

The diagrams on the following pages show the correct methods for making safe turns. 
Study them carefully. 

 

More accidents occur at intersections than anywhere else. Often there is a failure of 
communication among drivers, or someone takes an unnecessary chance when turning. 

To make a safe turn, follow these guidelines: 

1. Know where you want to turn. If you are not sure, drive slowly and read the 
street signs or road markers. Avoid last minute turns. 

2. Signal what you intend to do. Give pedestrians and other drivers advance 
notice of your intentions. 

3. Get into the correct lane as soon as possible. 

4. Look around you in all directions before you change lanes or turn. Do not 
assume that other drivers will see you. 

5. Slow down well before you reach the crosswalk of the intersection. Keep the 
wheels of your vehicle straight until the turn has started. Complete the turn 
at a consistent speed. Do not push down on the brake or clutch while you 
are turning. Do not shift gears while entering the intersection. 

6. Stay in your lane throughout the turn. Finish the turn in the proper lane. 
 
 
 

 

 

 

TURNING AT INTERSECTIONS 
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STEP 5: When it 
is safe, return to 
the right lane. 

 
 
 
 

 
DO NOT CUT CORNER. 

 
STEP 4: Obey any traffic signal or sign. When 
travel is permitted, look both ways before 
entering intersection. Then enter just to the 
right of center. 

 
STEP 3: Keep close 
to the center line 
and keep your 
wheels straight 
while waiting to 
turn. 

 
STEP 2: At least 
one hundred feet 
from the 
intersection, turn 
on your left signal 
and slow down. 

 
STEP 1: Well ahead of turn, check for traffic 
and move safely into the left lane. Use your 
signal to indicate you are changing lanes. 

DO NOT SWING 
INTO RIGHT LANE. 

X 

X 

HOW 
TO 
MAKE 
A 

LEFT 
TURN 
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STEP 5: 
Continue 
in the 
right 
lane. 

 
 

 
STEP 4: Obey any traffic signal or sign. When 
travel is permitted, look both ways before 
entering intersection. Then enter, keeping as 
close as possible to the right. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
STEP 1: If you are not 
already in the right lane, 
move into the right lane well 
ahead of the turn. Check for 
traffic, use your signal, and 
move safely. 

STEP 3: Keep close 
to the right side of 
the lane and keep 
your wheels 
Straight while 
waiting to turn. 

 
STEP 2: At least 
one hundred feet 
from the 
intersection, turn 
on your right 
signal and 
slow down

DO NOT SWING 
INTO LEFT LANE. 

HOW 
TO 

MAKE 
A 

RIGHT 
TURN 

X 
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ONLY 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
Some roadways allow vehicles in multiple lanes 
to turn at the same time. Similarly, some lanes 
permit drivers to either continue straight or to 
make a turn. The diagrams on this page show 
intersections with side-by-side turn lanes AND 
with lanes that permit turning OR continuing 
straight. Always follow directional arrows. If you 
choose to turn, be certain to stay in your lane. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
ONLY 

MULTIPLE 
TURN 
LANES 

& LANE 
OPTIONS 
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Be careful not to turn 
the wrong way onto a 

one-way street. 

 

When two drivers approach an 
intersection and both drivers 
want to turn left, each driver 
should turn to the left of the 
other. Leave from the left lane 
and enter into the left lane. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
A good rule to remember when traveling on a one-way 
street is to always turn from the lane nearest the curb. 
(Pavement markings or signage may permit turning 
from additional lanes.) 

 

 
 

 
The diagram on the left shows two 
intersecting one-way streets. At this 
intersection, turning right is permitted from 
one street, but not from the other. 
Conversely, turning left is permitted from 
one street, but not from the other. These 
restrictions keep drivers from traveling in the 
wrong direction on a one-way street. 

ONLY 

ONLY 

O
N

LY
 

O
N

LY
 

TURNING LEFT OF CENTER 

ONE-WAY STREETS 
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The most dangerous place on a highway is an intersection. Follow these guidelines as you approach and 
cross intersections: 

• Always approach any cross street or road with extreme caution. 

• If you cannot see the entire intersection as you approach, slow down and proceed 
cautiously. Be sure to look in both directions as you cross. 

• If traffic is blocked when you approach an intersection, stop before you reach the crosswalk 
and wait for traffic to move. 

• Slow down as you approach the intersection (and stop if required). Gradually increase 
your speed as you clear the intersection. 

• As you cross, drive defensively. Do not assume that pedestrians or other drivers understand 
your intentions. 

 

 

INTERSECTIONS AND RIGHT-OF-WAY 

RIGHT OF WAY 
"Right of way" is the privilege of immediate use of the 
highway. The person who has right of way may move 
ahead (whether in an automobile, on a bicycle, or 
traveling as a pedestrian). The person who does not 
have right of way must yield and wait. 

Several important rules determine who has right of way 
and who shall yield and wait at intersections or other 
places where two or more drivers, cyclists, or 
pedestrians meet. The first rule is to always use your 
common sense. Your right of way is important but is 
not worth an accident. 

 
In any right of way situation, be patient and use 
caution. Determine your right of way before you enter 
an intersection. If another driver yields to you, proceed 
immediately. If not, slow (or stop) your vehicle and let 
them proceed. 

In crosswalks, PEDESTRIANS ALWAYS HAVE RIGHT  
OF WAY, whether the crosswalk is marked or not. 
Vehicles already inside an intersection also have 
right of way. You must yield to BICYCLES exactly as 
you would to any other vehicle. 
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The vehicle 
signaling to turn 
across the traffic 
lane must yield 
and wait. 

The vehicle 
intending to 

travel straight 
through has the 

right of way. 

 
 

 
FOUR-WAY STOP 

 
 

 
At a four-way stop, right of way is 
determined by which vehicle arrives first, 
and by where the vehicle is located relative 
to the others. The first vehicle to arrive has 
right- of-way. If multiple vehicles arrive at 
the same time, the vehicle on the right has 
right of way. Do not slam on your brakes to 
“stop first.” Yield to the driver on right. 

 
 
 
 
 

 
TWO-WAY STOP 

 
 
 
 
 
 

At a two-way stop, the cross-traffic with 
no stop signs has the right of way. 
Vehicles arriving at stop signs must wait 
until the way is clear before proceeding. 
When the way is clear, the first vehicle 
to arrive at a stop sign has the right-of- 
way. If two vehicles arrive at the same 
time, the vehicle intending to travel 
straight across has right of way. The 
vehicle intending to turn across the 
traffic lane must yield and wait. 

The vehicle 
on the right 

has the right 
of way. 

If you approach an intersection with a stop sign or signal, you MUST bring your vehicle to a COMPLETE 
STOP at the crosswalk. You MUST YIELD THE RIGHT-OF-WAY TO ANY VEHICLE OR PEDESTRIAN IN THE 

INTERSECTION. You may carefully proceed if your way is completely clear. 
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DRIVEWAYS & UNMARKED ENTRANCES 
 

 
When entering a street or highway from 
a driveway or other entrance point, you 
must stop and yield to oncoming traffic, 
even if no stop sign is present. 

 
 
 

UNMARKED INTERSECTION 
If you encounter a highway intersection with no traffic signs or signals, yield to approaching 

traffic, then proceed only when it is safe. 
 

ROUNDABOUTS 
A roundabout or traffic circle is a circular intersection with design features that promote safe 
and efficient traffic flow. Vehicles travel counterclockwise around a raised center island, with 
entering traffic yielding the right of way to circulating traffic. When using roundabouts or traffic 
circles: 

• Slow down to enter the roundabout or traffic circle. 
• Yield to the traffic in the roundabout or circle. 
• Enter the roundabout or traffic circle in a counterclockwise direction. 
• Proceed to the appropriate exit, signal intent, and exit. 

 

 
YIELD TO 

ONCOMING CAR(S) 
ALREADY IN THE 

CIRCLE. 
 
 
 
 
 

This sign warns of a 
roundabout or traffic 

circle. 
 

MERGE 
CAREFULLY IF 
THE WAY IS 

CLEAR 
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SCHOOL BUS 

SCHOOL BUS 

 

Be especially careful when sharing the road with school buses. Each time you encounter a school bus with 
its red lights flashing and/or with its stop sign extended, Mississippi law states that YOU MUST: 

COME TO A COMPLETE STOP at least ten feet away from the bus. 

REMAIN STOPPED until the children have crossed the roadway AND the bus has resumed 
motion, its red lights no longer flash, and its stop sign is retracted. 

 You must stop for the school bus regardless of your direction of travel.  
 

 

 
One exception to the procedures above is for drivers traveling on a DIVIDED HIGHWAY. If you 
are traveling on a highway with FOUR or more lanes, with at least TWO lanes of travel in opposite 
directions, then: 

If you are traveling in the SAME direction as the stopped school bus, you must still follow 
the procedures above. Come to a complete stop. Proceed only AFTER the children have 
exited the roadway AND the bus has resumed motion, its red lights no longer flash, AND 
the school bus stop sign is retracted. 

If you are traveling in the OPPOSITE direction as the stopped school bus, you may 
continue to travel on your side of the divided highway without stopping. 

 

 

 
If the school bus stops in a loading zone that is part of the highway or adjacent to the highway, and 
where pedestrians are not allowed to cross the roadway, you do not have to stop.

YIELDING RIGHT-OF-WAY TO SCHOOL BUSES 
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YIELDING RIGHT-OF-WAY TO PEDESTRIANS 

Watch for 
pedestrians 

exiting 
parked cars 

or walking 
between 

parked cars. Watch for 
pedestrians 

entering 
crosswalks as 
you prepare 

to turn. 

People who are blind or who have visual impairments can be vulnerable 
pedestrians. Be on the lookout for pedestrians carrying a white cane, which 
may have a red tip. Take every precaution and extend every courtesy to keep 
them safe at intersections and crosswalks. Come to a complete stop if 
necessary. 

Although not required by law, common courtesy is 
to yield the right of way to funeral processions. 

 

A person walking across the street within a crosswalk, whether or not the crosswalk is marked, 
ALWAYS HAS THE RIGHT OF WAY. As a driver you must be extremely careful around 
pedestrians. Always keep your vehicle under control and be prepared to yield to those on foot. 
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Parking on a blind curve or in any other potentially dangerous place is illegal. 

You may be arrested, and your vehicle may be towed. 

If your vehicle breaks down, you will not be arrested; but you should move it out 
of the way as quickly as possible. 

 

In general, when you park your vehicle: 
• Put the gear in park (automatic transmission) or low (standard transmission) 
• Set the parking brake firmly 
• Turn off the ignition. 

Prohibited Parking 
You may not stop and leave your vehicle parked and unattended in any of the following places: 

• In front of a public or private driveway 
• Within twenty feet of the driveway entrance to any fire station or within seventy-five 

feet if it is so posted 
• Within ten feet of a fire hydrant 
• On a sidewalk 
• On a crosswalk 
• Within twenty feet of a crosswalk at an intersection 
• Inside an intersection 
• Within thirty feet of the approach to any traffic control device 
• Within fifteen feet of the nearest rail of any railroad crossing 
• On any bridge or elevated structure 
• In any highway underpass 
• On the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or parked at the edge of the road or the curb 
• Alongside any obstruction when your parking would add to traffic congestion 
• At any place where traffic signs prohibit stopping 

Parking on a Highway 

Outside of business or residential districts, you must park off the roadway. If you must park along a 
highway, take measures to keep other cars from running into yours. Be sure to: 

• Pull all the way off the roadway. 
• If possible, leave at least twenty feet for other vehicles to get by. 
• Park so you can be seen from at least two hundred feet in both directions. 
• Leave your parking lights or emergency flashers on if it is night. 

 
 

 

 

 
 

PARKING 



61  

PARALLEL PARKING 
The images below (STEPS 1-4) show how to maneuver into a parallel space. 
For vehicles parked parallel, tires should be within twelve inches of the curb. 
Use extreme care when exiting your vehicle from the street side. Unload your vehicle from the curb side. 

 
 STEP 1: Select a space large enough to 

accommodate your car. Use your signal 
to show you intend to enter the space. 
Stop alongside the car in front of the 
space. 

STEP 2: Make sure you will 
not interfere with oncoming traffic. 
Cut your wheels sharply to the right 
and back slowly toward the curb. Stop 
when your front tire aligns with the 
back bumper of the car ahead. 

  
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

STEP 3: Cut your wheels sharply to the 
left and continue backing. Be careful 
not to bump into the car behind you. 

STEP 4: Pull forward into the center of 
the space, leaving room in front of and 
behind your car. Align your car within 
twelve inches of the curb. 

   
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

EXITING A PARALLEL PARKING SPACE 
The driver leaving a parking space does not have the right of way. Be careful not to 
cause a traffic accident. Before you drive the vehicle out of the parking space, be certain 
the way is clear of any traffic or pedestrians. You must YIELD to any oncoming traffic. 
When leaving a parallel parking position look back over your shoulder to be sure you 
can safely drive the vehicle out of the parking space and into traffic. Use your signal 
before entering the travel lane. 
When leaving a diagonal or straight-in parking position, wait until the area behind the 
vehicle is clear and keep a proper lookout by looking back while backing up. 
Always look back over your shoulder while backing up. Never rely on your rearview 
mirror alone. 
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PARKING ON A HILL 
 
To park safely on a hill, follow the diagrams below. In a downhill position, turn your wheels sharply to the 
right, whether or not there is a curb. In an uphill position with no curb, turn your wheels sharply to the 
right. In an uphill position with a curb, turn your wheels sharply to the left. 

DOWNHILL 
 

No Curb 
Wheels toward right. 

 With Curb 
Wheels toward right. 

   

   

   

UPHILL 
No Curb 

Wheels toward right. 
 With Curb 

Wheels toward left. 
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USING YOUR HEADLIGHTS 

DRIVING AT NIGHT 
Visibility is greatly reduced at night. This makes it necessary to reduce your speed and to exercise 
caution. You can only see as far as your headlights reach. Be careful not to “over-drive” your headlights: 
do not drive so fast that you cannot stop within the distance you can see. 

 

If you meet a vehicle at night with bright or blinding headlights, the safest thing to do is to dim your 
lights and keep your eyes on the right side of the road. If you meet a vehicle at night with one 
headlight missing, drive to the far right of your lane. 

The glare of oncoming headlights and off-street advertisements may be a serious distraction. Never 
attempt to compensate for this difficulty by wearing darkened glasses. At night, or on dark days, the 
use of such glasses will only further reduce your vision. 

 

You are required by law to use your low beams when you approach within five hundred feet of an 
oncoming vehicle or when you are following within five hundred feet of another vehicle. You should 
use your lights between sunset and sunrise and at any other time when you cannot see clearly ahead 
for a distance of five hundred feet. Do not drive with only your parking lights turned on. If you need 
lights, use your headlights. 

Use the high beam only when driving in the open country without other cars nearby. Even with the high 
beam, speed should be lower than by day. 

 
 
 
 
 

Always use the lower beam when approaching another car so as not to blind the driver. Always use 
the lower beam when driving where there are streetlights, when following another car, and when 
driving in fog during the night or day. Using high beams while driving in fog reduces visibility. 
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Children under the age of 13 should 
always ride in the backseat. 

 
BUCKLE UP. 

IT’S THE LAW. 

SEAT BELTS, CAR SEATS, AND CHILD RESTRAINTS 
Mississippi law requires the following: 

 
Drivers and all passengers of motor vehicles shall wear a properly fastened seat belt, 
regardless of whether the passenger is in the front seat or back seat of the vehicle. 

 
When a passenger motor vehicle is operated in a forward motion on a public road, street 
or highway within this state, every operator and every passenger shall wear a properly 
fastened safety seat belt system. 

 
Children under the age of four years old must be properly secured in a child passenger 
restraint device (car seat) that meets applicable safety standards. 

 
Children at least four years old but under seven years old who are less than 4 feet 9 
inches in height or who weigh less than sixty-five pounds must be properly secured in a 
belt-positioning booster seat system that meets applicable safety standards. 

 

Violators of the safety belt and child restraint law can be fined. 
Please follow the following recommendations: 

 
The driver and all passengers in the vehicle must be buckled up. 

 
The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends keeping children in a rear-facing car seat 
until the child reaches the maximum height or weight for a convertible seat. This is usually 
three to five years old depending on the seat and the child’s growth. 

 
Children weighing forty to sixty-five pounds should use a booster seat designed for motor 
vehicle use. 
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HAZARDOUS CONDITIONS & EMERGENCIES 
In the event of hazardous road conditions and emergencies, follow these guidelines: 

 
In rainy conditions be especially careful. Many drivers pull off the road during a heavy 
downpour, but not everyone realizes that the opening minutes of rain or drizzle are 
actually the slickest and most dangerous. The first water to hit the road loosens 
accumulated dirt and grease. This immediately forms a mixture which quickly coats the 
road with a dangerously slick film. Slow down when rain begins to fall. 

 
When water is on the roadway, reduce your speed. High speeds under such conditions 
can cause your vehicle to hydroplane out of control. Most automobile skids are caused by 
driving too fast for the weather and road conditions. 

 
Hydroplaning— Hydroplaning occurs when the steering tires 
start to ride up on any pooled water, similar to the action of 
water skis. The best way to avoid traction loss from hydroplaning 
is to slow down in the rain or when the road is wet with pooled 
water or water puddles. 

 
Flooded roadways—Do not drive through large bodies of standing 
water on a road. If you see a flooded roadway, find another route to 
get to your destination. 

 
If your vehicle starts to skid, turn the wheel in the direction of the skid, but only if you can 
do so without running off the road or hitting something. Remember that braking suddenly 
will increase the skid. Never use the clutch when you are trying to stop a skid. 

 
If you have a flat tire or blowout, do not apply your brakes suddenly. Take your foot off the 
accelerator. Then apply the brakes slowly and cautiously. If you have plenty of stopping 
distance, allow the vehicle to stop by itself. 

 
If you run off the pavement, use the brakes lightly before returning to the roadway. 

 
If your car becomes disabled, pull over to the extreme right shoulder. If you must walk to 
seek help, always walk on the left side of the highway, facing oncoming traffic. Be 
EXTREMELY careful crossing any highway, and NEVER cross any interstate. 
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To report an emergency traffic situation on an interstate or 
highway in Mississippi, dial *HP (*47) on a cellular phone to 

be connected toll free to a Mississippi Highway Patrol 
dispatcher. Be prepared to state your emergency and 

provide the location (highway and/or mile marker) where 
assistance is needed. Only report actual emergencies to *HP. 

IN CASE OF AN ACCIDENT 

If you are involved in an accident: 

• Stop at once and help anyone who has been injured. Dial 911 to report injuries 
if necessary. 

• Report immediately to the proper law enforcement authorities if the accident 
involves injury, death, or apparent property damage exceeding $500.00. 

 
• Give all other parties involved in the accident your name, address, license plate 

number, and insurance information. For your own protection, be sure to get the 
same information from them. 

 
When the officer arrives at the accident scene, you must show Proof of Insurance and 
Insurance Policy number. Additional information about Mississippi’s vehicle insurance 
requirement is provided later in this manual. If you do not have proof of insurance, you may 
be cited for a violation even if you are not at fault for the accident. 

Remember: Whether or not you are at fault in an accident, you must report it unless there 
are no injuries and the property damage amounts to less than $500. If you are injured so 
badly that you cannot make an immediate report, any one of your passengers may do so. 
These reports are confidential. 
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YIELDING RIGHT OF WAY TO EMERGENCY VEHICLES 
 

Any ambulance, fire engine, or police car flashing red or blue lights or signaling with a bell or siren 
always has the right of way on any street in any traffic situation. If possible, pull your vehicle over 
to the extreme right shoulder of the road until the emergency vehicle has passed. If you are at an 
intersection, proceed through the intersection, and pull over to the extreme right shoulder. 

If an emergency vehicle with lights or siren activated is parked along the side of a four-lane highway, 
merge into the lane away from the emergency vehicle if it is safe to do so. If merging into an adjacent 
lane is not safe, slow down and prepare to stop if necessary. You MUST yield right of way. 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

WHAT TO DO AND EXPECT WHEN PULLED OVER BY 
LAW ENFORCEMENT 

 
Law Enforcement officers are responsible for conducting traffic stops when they have reasonable suspicion 
of a traffic violation or a criminal violation. Being stopped by an officer can be a stressful experience for 
the driver, any passengers, and for the officer. Knowing what to do during the stop will help ensure your 
safety and the safety of others.  When you see emergency lights behind you, it is important for you and 
your passengers to stay calm and cooperate. 
 
Remember to: 

• Activate your turn signal and pull off or to the side of the roadway as soon as it is safe to do so. 

• Turn off the engine and any audio devices. 

• Stay in your vehicle unless directed by the officer to exit. 

• Turn on your interior lights if you are pulled over at night to assist with visibility. Officers may use a 

spotlight for additional visibility. 

• Keep your hands on the steering wheel or in a visible location so they are easily observable. 

• Follow all instructions the officer gives you or your passengers. 
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The officer may approach either side of the vehicle. When the officer approaches the vehicle, remember 
to: 

• Lower the corresponding window so you and the officer can better communicate. 

• Let the officer know if you have a weapon in the vehicle upon first contact. 

• Wait for the officer’s instructions before reaching for your driver’s license or vehicle documents. 

 

 When conducting the stop, the officer will typically: 

• Explain why you were stopped/ask questions about your trip. 

• Ask for your driver’s license, proof of insurance, and vehicle registration. If the documents are out of 

your reach, tell the officer where they are and wait for the officer’s acknowledgment before 

reaching to retrieve the documents. 

• Show their law enforcement credentials if they are not in uniform. If they do not show their 

credentials, you may ask to see them.  

 

In some cases, the officer may: 

• Ask you to exit the vehicle. In this case, keep your hands visible, exit the vehicle, and stand in a 

location as directed by the officer. 

• Take any one of many possible actions, including but not limited to, issuing a warning, issuing a 

traffic ticket, or making an arrest. The officer will typically explain whatever action is being taken. If 

they do not, you may ask them to do so.  

 
If you have questions, respectfully ask the officer to clarify. If you disagree with the officer’s decision or 
course of action, do not prolong the contact by arguing with the officer. Rather, you may seek to contest 
the decision in court through established legal channels. Your acceptance and signature on a traffic ticket 
is not an admission of guilt.  
 
If you believe the officer acted inappropriately or have questions regarding their conduct, you may call or 
contact the officer’s agency and request to speak to a supervisor. This is best done as soon as possible 
after the stop. 

Following these procedures can help make a traffic stop a safe experience for all parties involved. 

This video from the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administration provides helpful 
information on What to Do & Expect When Pulled Over by Law Enforcement. 

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fel8CA_k20g&t=17s
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INTERSTATE HIGHWAY DRIVING 
 

 
 ENTERING & EXITING THE INTERSTATE  

To enter the interstate, drive along the ramp and obey the posted ramp speed. As you reach the end 
of the ramp, increase your speed in the acceleration lane until you reach the speed of the interstate 
highway traffic. It is dangerous to merge at a speed that is slower or faster than the flow of 
traffic. 

To merge into a travel lane, yield to any approaching vehicles and never turn suddenly into the main 
flow of traffic. First, give the proper signal, and then slowly merge into the traffic. Switch off your turn 
signal after you merge. 

 
To exit the interstate, be sure you are in the correct lane at least one-quarter mile from your exit. 
Most exits are on the right and require you to exit from the right-hand lane. However, some exits are 
on the left and require you to exit from the left-hand lane. Watch the signs to be certain of your exit’s 
location. 

Before exiting the interstate, check for vehicles beside and behind you, signal your intentions, and 
move into the deceleration lane. Do not slow down until you have safely moved into the deceleration 
lane. Then reduce your speed to the posted limit and turn off your signal. 

If you take the wrong exit, continue off the exit. 
If you miss your exit, do not stop and back up. Continue to the next exit. 

If you take the wrong exit, continue off the ramp. 

 Never stop, back up, or turn around on an exit ramp.  

Entering a Multi- Lane Highway 
 

Exiting a Roadway 
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LANE USE, PASSING, AND CHANGING LANES 
Use the proper lane at all times. The right lane is intended for through travel while the left lane is 
intended for passing. On the interstate, passing on either the right or left is permissible. 

Be sure to stay in the right lane if you are traveling more slowly than the other traffic. When being 
passed, do not speed up. When passing, do not drive alongside any vehicle longer than it takes you to 
pass. It is dangerous to drive in another vehicle’s “blind spot.” 

When traveling in an interstate’s right lane, watch for vehicles entering the right lane from access 
ramps and acceleration lanes. In order for vehicles to enter the right lane safely, merge left when 
safe to do so. 

To change lanes, check your rearview and side mirrors and check your blind spot for vehicles beside 
and behind you. Then signal your intentions clearly. When you are sure it is safe, move into the lane 
you wish to drive in. Follow the same steps when returning to your former lane. Be sure to switch off 
your turn signal after changing lanes. 

 

 
This car is in the center 

car’s blind spot. The center car’s 
driver side mirror will not reflect a 

vehicle in this area. 

 BLIND SPOTS  
This car is in the center 
car’s blind spot. The 
center car’s passenger 
side mirror will not 
reflect a vehicle in this 
area. 

 

 

SPEED LIMITS & FOLLOWING DISTANCE 
The speed limit for interstate driving is seventy miles per hour for both day and night. All speed limits 
are for ideal road and weather conditions. Adjust your speed according to circumstances. Be mindful 
of the posted minimum speed limit. 

Following too closely is extremely dangerous, especially on the interstate. Tailgating another vehicle 
is a main reason for collisions on the interstate. If you are driving at seventy mph, stay at least seven 
car lengths from the vehicle ahead. If you are driving fifty mph, stay at least five car lengths from the 
vehicle ahead. 

ACCIDENTS & BREAKDOWNS 
If you are involved in an accident or your car breaks down, move your vehicle off the pavement onto 
the extreme right shoulder or as far to the right as is practical. At night, leave your lights on and use 
your emergency flashers. 
If your vehicle breaks down, let others know that you need help by turning on your emergency 
flashers. 
If you are stranded on the interstate, never get out of your vehicle into the main flow of traffic. 
Do not stand beside your vehicle. Never walk along or across the interstate. Never attempt to 
hitchhike. Stay inside your vehicle, lock the doors, and wait for reliable help. 

Remember: A blind spot exists immediately behind large tractor-trailer rigs. 
If you cannot see the side mirrors on a large truck, the driver cannot see you! 
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INTERSTATE INTERCHANGES (EXITS & ENTRANCES) 
The diagrams below indicate the correct way to use the four principal types of interstate interchanges. 
All ramps and exits are normally marked clearly. If you are unsure how to enter the interstate, pull off 
the road, and stop to check for the correct route. 

Do not proceed until you are sure how to use the ramp. 
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BEWARE OF BLIND SPOTS  

FOLLOW SAFELY  

PASS SAFELY  

RIGHT TURNS  

ROAD SAFETY WITH LARGE VEHICLES 
When traveling on interstates and highways used by large trucks and tractor-trailers, follow these 
guidelines: 

 

Large vehicles have limitations which motorists may be unaware of. The most significant of these are 
blind spots—areas around the oversized vehicle where the driver's ability to see and react to other 
vehicles is restricted. To avoid being in the driver's rear blind spot, do not follow the vehicle too closely. 
Instead, position your vehicle so that the professional driver can see your vehicle in his side mirrors. 
Remember, if you cannot see the side mirrors on the front of the oversized vehicle you are following, 
the driver cannot see you. 

 

When following a large vehicle at night, always dim your headlights. Bright lights from the vehicle 
behind can blind the driver when they reflect off the vehicle's large side mirrors. 

If you are stopped behind a large vehicle on an upgrade, leave additional space in case the vehicle 
drifts backwards slightly when it starts to move. Remember to keep to the left in your lane so the driver 
can see that you are stopped behind the vehicle. 

Do not follow too closely. An average tractor-trailer weighs approximately 80,000 pounds. Oversized 
vehicles take longer to stop. 

 

When passing a large vehicle, first check to your front and rear, then move into the passing lane only 
if it is clear and while in a legal passing zone. 

• On a level highway, it takes 3 to 5 seconds 
longer to pass a large vehicle than to pass a 
car. 

• On an upgrade, it may be easier to pass a 
large vehicle, as it often loses speed. 

• While on a downgrade, the large vehicle's momentum will cause it to go faster, so you may 
need to increase your speed in order to pass. 

Simply waiting to pass when it is safer to do so is always an option. 

Before returning to the lane of the vehicle you have passed, be sure to move back only when you can 
see the front wheels of the truck meeting the pavement in your rearview mirror. Remember to 
maintain your speed once you have completed the passing maneuver. 

When a large vehicle passes you, help the driver by keeping to the far side of your lane. Never 
speed up when an oversized vehicle is passing you. 

When you meet a large vehicle coming from the opposite direction, keep as far to the right as possible 
to avoid a sideswipe crash and reduce the wind turbulence. Remember that wind turbulence pushes 
vehicles apart; it does not pull them together. 

Large vehicles require more space to make a turn and need to swing to the left of the lane when 
preparing to make a right turn. To avoid a crash, do NOT pass a truck on the right if there is a 
possibility that it might be making a right turn. 
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SHARING THE ROAD WITH BICYCLES 
According to Mississippi law, a bicycle is considered a vehicle when 
riding on public roads. Any person riding a bicycle has the same 
rights and responsibilities as a driver of a motor vehicle. 

 
 RULES FOR DRIVERS   RULES FOR CYCLISTS  

 

Drivers must: 
• Yield to oncoming bicyclists just as you 

would yield to oncoming motorists. 

• Leave a safe distance of at least three 
feet between the vehicle and bicycle 
when passing the bicycle. 

• Only pass a bicycle traveling in the same 
direction in a non-passing zone when it 
is safe to do so. 

• After passing a bicyclist proceeding in 
the same direction, make a right turn 
only if the turn can be made with 
reasonable safety. 

• Do not “cut off” a cyclist by turning in 
front of them. 

NOTE: When passing a bicyclist, use extra 
caution in order to pass safely. Do not try 
to share the lane with a bicyclist when 
passing. Reduce speed, move into the next 
lane and pass in the normal manner, just as 
you would pass a motor vehicle. If there is 
oncoming traffic, slow down behind the 
bicyclist and pass when the oncoming 
traffic has cleared. Leave plenty of room 
while passing. The wind effects from a 
moving vehicle can cause a bicyclist to lose 
control if the vehicle passes too closely. 

Cyclists must: 
• Observe all traffic laws, including stopping 

for stop signs, stop lights, and obeying any 
other road signs. 

• Use arm/hand signals for turning. 
 

 
• Ride as far to the right in the lane as is safely 

possible. Generally, this means riding two to 
four feet from the right edge of the road. A 
bicyclist may move to the left/farther into the 
traffic lane when: 
o overtaking and passing another vehicle 

traveling in same direction as the bicycle 
o unsafe conditions are present on the right 

side of the lane, such as broken or missing 
pavement, pedestrians, animals, parked 
cars, or road hazards (gravel, tree limbs, 
broken glass, etc.) 

o the cyclist intends to travel straight 
through an intersection and the right lane 
is for right turns only or the cyclist intends 
to turn left. 

  or   

An experienced bicyclist can ride 20- 
25 miles per hour and may be closer 

than you think. 
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Follow the tips below to improve your safety when traveling by bicycle. 
 

WEAR A HELMET! This is one of the most effective ways to reduce the risk of serious 
injury. Note that depending on local laws, riding without a helmet may be illegal. 

 
TRAVEL WITH THE DIRECTION OF TRAFFIC. Never ride a bicycle facing oncoming traffic. 

 
RIDE PREDICTABLY. Do not weave in and out of traffic or back and forth on the road. 

 
ENTER ROADWAYS CAREFULLY. Yield to oncoming traffic just as you would if traveling 
by car. Be certain your path is clear before riding out of alleys or driveways or from 
behind parked cars. 

 
BE VISIBLE. Wear bright clothing. A bright headlight, taillight, and reflective vest or 
clothing should be used if riding at night. 

 
USE A LUGGAGE CARRIER, BASKET, OR SADDLE BAGS (PANNIERS) for carrying items. 

 
NEVER RIDE TWO PEOPLE on a bicycle built for one. 

 
NEVER HITCH your bicycle to another vehicle. 

 
USE COMMON SENSE. Even though you have a right to ride on the road, use common 
courtesy. If traffic conditions make it difficult for motorists to pass you, pull off the road 
periodically to let the motorists pass safely. Do not let long lines of cars back up behind 
you for extended periods. State law does permit bicyclists to ride side-by-side, but 
bicyclists riding two abreast should not impede the normal and reasonable movement 
of traffic. 

 
When riding on a multi-lane roadway always ride within a single lane. 

 

TIPS FOR SAFER CYCLING 
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VALID MISSISSIPPI DRIVER’S LICENSE 

LICENSE PLATE 

CERTIFICATE OF TITLE (CERTIFIED TITLE) 

WINDOW TINT CERTIFICATE & DECAL 

REQUIRED VEHICLE DOCUMENTATION 
Mississippi residents’ vehicles must have a Mississippi license plate and certificate of title. Vehicles 
must have adequate insurance. Each of these requirements is described below. 

You must have your valid driver's license while driving. 
 

You must purchase your license plate/tag in the county where you live. Contact your local Tax 
Collector for information about this purchase. For information on tags for heavy trucks, contact 
the Mississippi Department of Revenue at 601.923.7200. 

If you have moved to Mississippi, you must obtain a Mississippi license plate within thirty days. 

You are required by law to mount your Mississippi license plate (tag) on the rear of your vehicle. 
Trailer hitches, tag emblems, or any other decoration must not obscure any part of any 
letter, numeral, or any combination of letter/numeral on your plate (tag). You must also have a tag 
light which makes the letter, numeral or any combinations of letter/numerals on your license 
plate (tag) visible at sixty feet at night. 

Every vehicle must have a Certificate of Title. Title applications are furnished by new and used car 
dealers for the vehicles they sell. Title applications must be supported by a bill of sale and two 
years’ tag receipts. 

If you are bringing a vehicle into Mississippi, you need only present your out-of-state title to apply. 
You must obtain a Mississippi tag within thirty days. 

All licensed motor vehicle dealers and all county tax collectors must be qualified, by law, to accept 
title applications. Banks, finance companies, and other financial institutions may also qualify as 
designated agents by the Mississippi State Tax Commission. 

Any vehicle registered in Mississippi that has an after-market window tint film applied, must have the  
windows inspected by an official Mississippi Window Tint Inspection Station. Windows with aftermarket 
tinting must have a window tint inspection certificate and decal.  
  

The window tint compliance certificate and decal cost is $5.00. The window tint decal must be affixed 
to the lower left corner of the windshield. The compliance certificate must be kept on the dashboard or 
inside the dash compartment.  
  

The windshield of the vehicle must have affixed to it a label certifying that all the windows of the 
vehicle have a light transmittance of 28% or more.  
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MINIMUM INSURANCE AMOUNTS 

$25,000 single person, single vehicle accident 
$50,000 two or more people, single vehicle accident 

$25,000 property damage of others in any single accident 

PROOF OF INSURANCE & SAFETY RESPONSIBILITY 
ACT 

The Safety Responsibility Act helps guarantee all Mississippi licensed drivers take financial 
responsibility for accidents they may cause. According to Mississippi law every motor vehicle 
operated in this state must have liability insurance. 

 

 

 
PROOF OF INSURANCE 
The insured parties are responsible for making sure a current, valid insurance card is kept inside each 
vehicle. You can be cited and fined if you have an accident or are involved in a traffic stop and cannot 
provide proof of insurance. You may provide proof of insurance in electronic format by displaying the 
electronic image on a cellular phone or any other type of electronic device. 

 
 

 
What if I have an accident and cannot provide proof of insurance? 

Your driving privilege may be suspended. To avoid suspension you must: 

• Show that you had an adequate insurance policy in effect at the time of the accident; or 

• Show that you have either a certificate of deposit or securities valuing $15,000.00; or 

• Show that you have a Certificate of Self-Insurance supplemented by an agreement to pay the 
same judgments in the same amounts as you would have had to pay under an owner's insurance 
policy. (A self-insurer must own a fleet of more than 25 vehicles.); or 

• Deposit cash, or a negotiable security, or a corporate surety bond in an amount judged sufficient by 
the department to pay all damages; or 

• Present a release of liability, a final adjudication of non-liability for damages, or show payment of 
your damages by the other party. 

 
In addition, if you were the driver at fault in an accident that caused injuries or damage(s) to another person or 

property, and you did not have liability insurance at the time of the accident, then you are required to 
purchase liability insurance and to file proof of insurance. 

 
The proof of insurance must: 

• show that you now have the minimum liability coverage required in Mississippi and 

• be provided by a liability insurance company licensed in Mississippi and 

• remain in effect for a period of three years from the date of the accident.
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Driving under the influence of marijuana or other 
drugs is not only dangerous, but also illegal. 

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE & IMPLIED CONSENT 
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is illegal in Mississippi. Mississippi’s Implied Consent Law 
provides the legal consequences of driving under the influence of alcohol and other drugs. 

 
 ALCOHOL & THE DRIVER  

Driving under the influence of alcohol is extremely dangerous. Alcohol can affect your personality, 
temperament, and judgment. Tests show that even two beers can markedly decrease a person’s 
reflexes and reaction time. 

If your reactions slow down only a half-second, and you need to hit the brakes while traveling fifty- 
five miles per hour, your vehicle will travel an extra forty-four feet before stopping. 

That additional distance could be the difference between life and death. 

If you drink alcohol, do not drive a vehicle. 

Never let another person who has consumed alcohol get behind the wheel of a vehicle. 
 

 
 MARIJUANA & THE DRIVER  

 

 
Marijuana, like alcohol and other drugs including prescription medication, slows down reflexes and 
impairs judgment. 

Smoking medical cannabis in a motor vehicle or operating or being in actual physical control of any 
motor vehicle while under the influence is a violation of Mississippi’s laws and can result in arrest. 

 
Driving under the influence of any drug – including medical cannabis and other prescription drugs – 
impairs a driver’s ability to operate a motor vehicle and can result in arrest. 
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What if I refuse to take a breath or chemical test? 

You have the right to refuse the officer’s request. If you refuse: 

You must surrender your driver’s license to the officer immediately. 

The officer will give you an official receipt for your license, which will serve as your 

temporary permit to drive, valid for only forty-five days. 

The officer will forward your driver’s license, along with the officer’s sworn report, 

to the Commissioner of Public Safety, who will review your case. 

Your license will be administratively suspended for ninety days for 
refusing the breath or chemical test. Suspension times increase for 
subsequent refusals resulting in a conviction or non-adjudication. 

 
 
 

How much is too much? (And what happens if I’ve had too much?) 

Under the Influence intoxicating alcohol if: 

21 years old or older BAC registers .08% or more 

under the age of 21 BAC registers .02% or more. 

If your blood alcohol content reaches or exceeds your minimum limit, the officer 
will demand your license. The officer will give you an official receipt for your 

license, which will serve as your temporary permit to drive, valid for only 30 days. 

 IMPLIED CONSENT  

When you operate a motor vehicle in the state of Mississippi, you are giving your implied 
consent to testing for the presence of intoxicating substances in your body. This means that 
if a law enforcement officer has good reason to suspect that you are operating your vehicle 
under the influence of an intoxicating substance, the officer can request you take a breath or 
chemical test. These tests measure your blood alcohol content (BAC). 

 
Mississippi has Zero Tolerance for underage drivers 

under the influence of alcohol. 
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Additional penalties may apply. 

For example, if you are convicted of a First Offense DUI (or First Offense Zero Tolerance 
DUI) AND you refused the breath or chemical test, a 90-day license suspension is added to 
the original penalty. 

Penalties are also more severe if you receive a DUI conviction while your license is 
suspended for a previous DUI. An accident resulting in injuries while you are driving under 
the influence also enhances the penalty. 

DUI Penalties 
These penalties apply to drivers 21 years of age and older with .08% Blood Alcohol 

Content or higher. 

OFFENSE/CONVICTION FINE JAIL TERM LICENSE SUSPENSION 
DUI—First Offense 
(Misdemeanor) 

$250 - $1,000 Up to 48 hours 120 days 

DUI—Second Offense within 5 
years 
(Misdemeanor) 

$600 - $1,500 Not less than 5 
days, nor more 
than 6 months 

1 year 

DUI—Third Offense within five 
years (Felony) 

$2,000 - $5,000 Not less than 1 
year, nor more 
than 5 years, 
custody of MDOC 

The full period of the person's sentence, and 
upon release from incarceration, the person 
will be eligible for only an interlock-restricted 
license for three years. 

DUI- Fourth or subsequent 
offense regardless of time 
period 

$3,000 - 
$10,000 

Not less than 2 
years, nor more 
than 10 years 

The full period of the person's sentence, and 
upon release from incarceration, the person 
will be eligible for only an interlock-restricted 
license for ten years. 

 

ZERO TOLERANCE DUI Penalties 
These penalties apply to drivers under 21 years of age, who have a Blood Alcohol Content of 

.02% or higher, but LESS than .08%. 
If a driver is under twenty-one and has a Blood Alcohol Content of .08% or higher, 

the offense is classified as a regular DUI—not as a Zero Tolerance DUI. 
 

OFFENSE/CONVICTION FINE LICENSE SUSPENSION 
Zero Tolerance DUI—First Offense $250 120 days 

Zero Tolerance DUI—Second Offense within 
five years 

Not more than $500 1 year 

Zero Tolerance DUI—Third Offense within 
five years 

Not more than $1,000 2 years or until the person reaches the 
age of 21, whichever is longer. 
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LICENSE SUSPENSION, REVOCATION, & 
REINSTATEMENT 

 

Your license represents your privilege to drive in Mississippi. Protect this privilege by driving safely 
and lawfully. If you disobey the laws of the state, or if you prove yourself unable to drive in 
accordance with those laws, your license may be taken away by the Commissioner of Public Safety. 

 SUSPENSION OF LICENSE  

The Commissioner of Public Safety is authorized to suspend your license without a preliminary hearing 
if public records or other sufficient evidence indicate that: 

• You are convicted of an offense for which mandatory revocation of license is required. 
• You have been involved, as a driver, in any accident resulting in the death or personal 

injury of another person or in serious property damage. 
• You are a habitually reckless or negligent driver. 
• You have been frequently convicted of serious traffic violations. 
• You are mentally or physically incompetent to drive. 
• You have allowed fraudulent use of your license. 
• You are convicted of DUI or DWI in another state. 
• You have committed an offense in another state that would, in Mississippi, have resulted in the 

suspension or revocation of your license. 
• You obtained a Mississippi driver’s license while your license in another state was under 

suspension. 
• You have failed to pay child support. 

 REVOCATION OF LICENSE  

The Commissioner of Public Safety must take away your license for a period of one year if you are 
convicted of any of the following: 

• manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from a driving accident 
• any felony in which you used a motor vehicle 
• failure to stop and render aid as required under the laws of this state in the event of a motor 

vehicle accident 
• perjury or making any false statement to the Department concerning your ownership or 

operation of a motor vehicle 
• three reckless driving convictions within a twelve-month period 
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What payment methods are 

accepted? 

You must pay by CASHIER'S check. 
DO NOT SEND CASH, MONEY ORDER 

OR A PERSONAL CHECK. 
 

Make the check payable to: 

Department of Public Safety 

NOTE: If your license was deposited in lieu 
of bond OR you failed to appear in court, 
you must show a corrected court abstract 
from the judge before being reinstated. 

 
Where do I send my CASHIER’S check? 

For suspension due to DUI or unpaid tickets, mail to: 
 

DRIVER SERVICEBUREAU 
PO BOX 1459 

CANTON, MS 39046 

 REINSTATEMENT OF DRIVING PRIVILEGES  

If your driving privileges were suspended or revoked and are now eligible for reinstatement, the 
following fees and procedures apply. 

 
 

REASON FOR SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION 
FEE FOR 

REINSTATEMENT 
 

Conviction under Mississippi Implied Consent 
Law / DUI or Uniform Controlled Substances Act 

$175 

Failure to pay Child Support $25 

All other suspensions $100 
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LITTERING 
It is unlawful for any person to throw, scatter, spill, or place any solid waste in any of the 
following manners or amounts: 
and 

It is unlawful for any person to cause solid waste to be thrown, scattered, spilled, or placed in 
any of the following manners or amounts: 

• In or on any public highway, road, street, alley or thoroughfare, including any portion 
of the right of way thereof, or any other public lands, except in containers or areas 
lawfully provided. When solid waste is thrown or discarded from a motor vehicle, the 
operator or owner of the motor vehicle, or both, shall be deemed in violation. 

• In or on any waters of the state. 

• In or on any private property, unless prior written consent of the owner has been given 
and the solid waste will not cause a public nuisance or be in violation of any other 
state or local law, rule, or regulation. 

• Raw human waste from any train, aircraft motor vehicle, or vessel upon the public or 
private lands or waters of the state. 
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CLASS D LICENSE 
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 CLASS D—REGULATIONS  

Most of the driving rules and regulations covered so far in this manual are meant for the ordinary 
driver. Company drivers must be familiar with many additional rules and regulations, especially those 
concerning trucks. If you intend to drive a company vehicle, study this section carefully. As a driver of a 
company vehicle, your responsibilities are more complex than those of an ordinary driver. 

 EQUIPMENT  
All lights and reflectors must be clean and in working order and be visible five hundred feet from the 
rear of your truck-trailer. 

You must have a mechanical or electrical device for giving turn signals. 

All reflectors on the rear and sides near the rear of your truck-trailer must show a red color. All 
reflectors on the front and sides near the front must show an amber color. 

You MUST have two red reflectors on the rear, and you must have a red taillight. You must also have a 
stop light, which may be incorporated with the taillight. When you apply the foot brake, the stop light 
must show a red or amber color. 

Your clearance and side-marker lamps must, when lighted, display an amber color on or near the 
trailer's front, and must, when lighted, display a red color on or near the rear. 

Any vehicle which is designed or loaded so that the driver's rear view is obstructed must have a side 
mirror located so that the driver can see at least two hundred feet to the rear. 

Your truck's muffler must be in good working condition. You may not use a muffler cutout, bypass, or 
any similar device. 

 SAFETY & WARNING DEVICES  

If you operate a bus or truck at night, you must carry at least three flares, fuses, electric flares, or 
reflectors. If your vehicle becomes disabled, place one of these warning devices approximately one 
hundred feet ahead of your location, a second one hundred feet to the rear, and a third at the roadway 
side of the vehicle. 

In daylight hours, you should use red flags in these same positions. 
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 SIZE REGULATIONS  
WIDTH 

The total outside width of any vehicle, including the load being carried on that vehicle, cannot 
exceed eight and one-half feet. The total outside width of a farm tractor shall not exceed ten 
feet. 

HEIGHT 
Under no conditions may any vehicle, loaded or unloaded, exceed a total height of thirteen 
and one-half feet. This height is permitted only if no company, corporation, local government, 
government agency, or the State of Mississippi must raise, alter, reconstruct, or change in any 
way any underpass, trestle, wire, pole, or any other structure. If your vehicle exceeds twelve 
and one-half feet in height, either you or the vehicle's owner will be held responsible for any 
damage caused by the excess height. 

LENGTH 
Single Vehicle-No single vehicle, loaded or unloaded, may have an overall length in excess of 
forty feet, including both front and rear bumpers. 
Semitrailer OR truck and trailer-No semitrailer operating in a truck tractor-semitrailer 
combination and no trailer drawn by a motor vehicle shall exceed a length in excess of fifty-three feet. 
Semitrailer-trailer OR truck and double trailer—No semitrailer or trailer operating in a 
truck tractor-semitrailer-trailer combination and no trailer operating in a double trailer combination 
drawn by a motor vehicle shall exceed a length of thirty feet. 

EXTENSION OF LOAD 
Rear—Under normal conditions, the load on the rear of a vehicle transporting forest or 
agricultural products in their natural state can project no more than twenty-eight feet beyond 
the vehicle's rear axle. However, if these products cannot be shortened without making them 
useless for their intended purpose (such as utility poles), a special permit may be obtained 
from the Mississippi Department of Transportation allowing their transportation. Vehicles 
with such projecting loads may legally operate only during daylight hours, and only with the 
load safely secured by at least two chains, two wire ropes, or two nylon straps, one positioned 
behind the front bolster and one in front of the back bolster. 
Front—The load on any vehicle operated alone or with the load on the front unit of any 
combination of vehicles must not extend more than three feet beyond the front wheels of 
the vehicle or the front bumper. 

WEIGHT 
For regulations governing gross weights of vehicles and loads, contact the nearest office of The 
Mississippi Department of Transportation. 

 COMBINATION TOWING  

No semitrailer or trailer combinations in excess of two units, excluding the towing vehicle, will be allowed 
to operate on Mississippi highways. 

No more than two vehicles in any combination may be towed by saddle mounts, and no more than one 
motor vehicle may be towed by towbar. 
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NOTE: If you use a tarpaulin, canvas, or cover of any kind, you must secure it soundly so that no end, 
string, or binding flaps as the truck moves down the roadway. 

 EXEMPTIONS TO SIZE REGULATIONS  
Farm machinery is exempt from size, weight, and height limitations when operated during daylight 
hours on any state highway within fifty miles of the point of origin. Farm machinery cannot be moved 
on interstate highways. Such machinery, or the vehicle towing it, must be equipped with front and rear 
reflector lights and a blinking light clearly visible from the front and rear. 

If you need to move a load that exceeds any size or weight limitation, you may request a permit to do 
so from the: 

 
Mississippi Department of Transportation 

Maintenance Division Permit Section 
P.O. Box 1850 

Jackson, MS 39205 

 WEIGH STATIONS  

You will find weigh stations located on most main highways. You must pull your truck into these 
stations so that it can be weighed to determine if it is overloaded. Call 601-359-1148 for additional 
information. 

 AVOIDING SPILLS  

You may not put any vehicle on the road unless it is built or loaded so that none of the load can spill, 
shift, leak, or in any way escape onto the roadway. EXCEPTIONS: Dropping sand onto the roadway to 
secure traction is permitted. Authorized vehicles spraying water or any other substance to clean the 
roadway are exempt from this regulation. 

 
If you are driving a truck, truck-trailer, or any other open-topped vehicle on a highway or interstate in 
Mississippi; or you are carrying sand, dirt, gravel, rocks, or any similar material; or your load reaches 
within six inches or fewer of the top of the bed, then you must: 

• use a tarpaulin, canvas, or other cover to contain the load, AND 
• use four, six-inch sideboards, one attached to the front, one to the back, 

and one to each side of the body. These sideboards must be lowered when you are 
loading the vehicle, and none of the loads can extend above the body. After loading is 
completed, you must raise these sideboards and secure them for the trip. 
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 SAFE DRIVING  

FOLLOWING DISTANCE 
If you are driving a truck, truck-trailer, or other similar vehicle on a roadway outside business or 
residential districts, you must not follow within three hundred feet of other trucks except when you 
are attempting to pass. 

 
EQUIPMENT CHECKS 
Check all your equipment, such as tires, lights, brakes, and load during each stop. 

FLAMMABLE LOADS 
If your vehicle is carrying explosives or flammable liquids, you must stop at all railroad crossings— 
even if no signals warn that a train is approaching. Passenger buses and school buses must also stop. 

 
If you drive a truck carrying gasoline, oil, or explosives, be careful to avoid fires and explosions. Turn 
off the ignition when you put gasoline in the tank or unload the truck. Do not smoke at any time on or 
near the truck. In case of an accident, keep people, especially smokers, away. When driving a truck 
with such a load, you should keep out of business districts and heavy traffic as often as possible and 
park away from buildings and other vehicles when possible. 

BACKING UP 
When you are preparing to back up a truck or large vehicle, always get out and carefully check 
clearance limits. Make sure that you have plenty of room to maneuver. If possible, have someone 
guide you when you back up. Never back into an intersection to turn around. 

COASTING 
Never disengage the clutch while driving your truck on a downgrade. This "coasting" is illegal and 
very risky. 

PROTECTING YOUR LOAD 
Make certain to keep rear doors locked. 

 COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE (CDL) CLASS A, B, C  
 

To get a CDL, you must pass both knowledge and skills tests. You may wish to obtain a copy of the 
Mississippi Professional Driver's Manual for study. You must have a CDL to operate: 

1. A single vehicle with a GVWR of more than 26,000 pounds. 

2. A trailer with a GVWR of more than 10,000 pounds if the gross combination weight rating is 
more than 6,000 pounds. 

3. A vehicle designed to transport more than fifteen persons (including the driver). 

4. Any size vehicle which requires hazardous materials placards. 
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APPENDIX A: Organ Donation 
 

Organ transplants save thousands of lives each year. The transplantation of the kidneys, 
lungs, heart, liver, pancreas and intestines from a donor is often the only therapy for 
people whose organs have failed. There are over 100,000 people in the United States 
waiting for one or more of these gifts. One organ donor can save up to eight lives. In 
addition, the donation of tissues such as corneas, skin, ligaments and bone can enhance the 
lives of 75 or more individuals with a variety of injuries and impairments.  
 
However, the U.S. faces a serious shortage of organ and tissue donors. According to the 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, an average of 16 die each day waiting on a 
transplant. 
 
Mississippians age 15+ who are registering for a driver’s permit or state identification 
card may indicate their wishes to be a donor on their license. Consent from legal next of 
kin is required at the time of donation for anyone still under the age of 18. Whether 
registered or not, anyone can donate, regardless of age, race or gender. Your medical 
condition at the time of your death will determine what organs and tissues can be donated.  
 
If you are not a registered organ donor at your time of death, your legal next-of-kin must 
give consent for organ donation. Mississippi's Gift of Life Act (1998) requires that all families 
be given the option to donate organs and tissue at the time of death. The Mississippi 
Department of Public Safety provides information about organ donation at each driver 
license station. Please learn all you can about organ donation and have a conversation with 
your family about your wishes. 
 
If you are injured or become ill, the quality of treatment and life-saving efforts you receive 
at the hospital will not be lessened if you choose to donate. Only after all efforts to save 
your life have been exhausted and the physician in charge of your care has declared death 
will donation be considered and transplant professionals become involved. 
 
Your family is not responsible for any donation costs. However, you are responsible for 
hospital expenses up until the time of death, even when consent is given for donation. 
 
Organ and tissue donation will not affect funeral plans. Organ Recovery takes place in a 
sterile operating room under the direction of skilled surgeons. Families can proceed with 
any type of funeral or burial arrangements, including an open casket funeral. Funeral 
expenses are also the responsibility of the family or the estate. 
 
All major religions support donation as a final, charitable act of giving to others. Organ 
donation and transplant is consistent with the life-preserving traditions of these faiths. 
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APPENDIX B: The Natchez Trace 
The Natchez Trace Parkway is administered by the National Park Service of the United States 
Department of the Interior. It stretches four hundred fifty miles from Natchez, Mississippi, to a 
point near Nashville, Tennessee. Mississippi's section is three hundred fifty miles long. The 
Parkway commemorates the Natchez Trace, a frontier road, prominent in the development of the 
Old Southwest. (An elongated park including a high-quality roadway, the right of way averages one 
hundred acres for each mile of roadway.) The Parkway runs from four to seven hundred feet in 
width, and is widest at historical, scientific, and recreational areas. As a traveler along the Trace, 
you will find nearby Native American sites and settings relating to the history of the original road. 
Commercial vehicles are excluded from the Parkway, and access is limited. Crossroads separated 
by grades, long curves, good sight lines, and good slight grades, all combine to protect the motorist 
driving along the Trace. 

 
The Parkway is protected and patrolled by National Park Rangers who are ready to assist you in 
having a safe and enjoyable trip. Report all accidents, fires, or other emergencies to the nearest 
Ranger or call 1-800-300-PARK (7275). 

 
If you cannot locate the number and need assistance, dial “0” for the operator and ask to be 
connected to the nearest Natchez Trace Park Ranger. Be sure to give your approximate location 
and to describe circumstances. 

Federal regulations govern vehicle traffic and public use of Parkway facilities. State traffic laws also 
apply. The maximum speed for travel on the Parkway is fifty MPH, except where lower speeds are 
posted. Radar is used for your protection. 

 
The Superintendent of the Natchez Trace Parkway is in immediate charge of all facilities. For 
additional information, you may contact this person at: 

P.O. Box 948, 
Tupelo, Mississippi 38801 

(601) 842-1572 
 

This is your Parkway. It exists for you and for all generations to come. Heed all posted signs. Do not 
hunt or use firearms on Parkway lands. Extinguish all lighted cigarettes, cigars, and matches. Never 
throw them or other debris from moving vehicles. 

 
If you have any doubts about any regulation governing the use of the Parkway, do not hesitate to 
contact a Park Ranger. Remember that if you violate any laws while on the roadway or while using 
any of the Parkway's facilities, you will be tried in a federal court. 
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APPENDIX C: Share the Road 
 
 
 

 

 
Overview 
Share the Road is a highway safety program of the American Trucking Associations (ATA). Million- 
mile accident-free professional truck drivers deliver specific life-saving safety tips to the public, the 
media, and our public officials through television, radio, the web, and in print. News conferences are 
held where cars and trucks are set up in simulated highway lanes that show the common ways in 
which accidents happen on the road. The program's goal is to reach as many people as possible and 
change driving behavior so that we can save lives. 

Program Goal 
Media and community events are held across the country, including state capitols, motorcycle and 
RV events, auto shows, at truck driving championships, high schools and middle schools, and in 
congested cities. The Share the Road tractor-trailer serves as the centerpiece for all safety and media 
events and is certainly an attraction while travelling on the highways. Mack Trucks generously 
provides a dedicated Mack Anthem to the Share the Road program. The Share the Road program 
works with various highway safety partners, the state trucking associations, the Federal Motor 
Carrier Safety Administration, and industry partners. 

 
For more information visit https://www.trucking.org/share-road. 

https://www.trucking.org/share-road


 

Post Office Box 1459 

Canton, Mississippi 
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