# Individual Firearm Permit Initial Application Instructions



Mississippi Department of Public Safety Firearm Permit Division



#### Contents

INTROD	UCTION	2
FEES		2
Disab	led Veterans	2
Active	Duty Military	2
Active	e Law Enforcement	3
IDENTIF	ICATION	3
ENHANCED CARRY OPTION		3
Retired Law Enforcement Requirements		3
Military Requirements		3
APPLICTION INSTRUCTIONS		4
В.	Qualifying Questions	5
C.	Special Designations	5
D.	Enhanced Carry Option	5
E.	Residency	6
AFFIDAV	/IT AND RELEASE OF INFORMATION	6
SUBMISSION OF APPLICATION		7
LOCATIONS AND HOLIRS OF OPERATION		7



#### **INTRODUCTION**

For first-time applicants desiring to obtain a concealed carry firearm permit, the *Application For Concealed Carry Firearm Permit* (IFP-APP-01) must be filled out in its entirety as well as any other required forms, including a notarized Affidavit and Release of Information form (IFP-AFF-01). Failure to complete all required forms may result in the application's rejection.

This application and all required forms must be presented in person at the Department of Public Safety Headquarters in Jackson or a Mississippi Highway Patrol District Substation in Pearl, Greenwood, Batesville, New Albany, Starkville, Meridian, Hattiesburg, Biloxi, or Brookhaven. At that time, the applicant will be fingerprinted and photographed.

Note: If you are applying for a renewal and have had no changes in the qualifications you met on your initial application, you can alternatively complete the *Renewal of MS Concealed/Enhanced Carry Firearm Permit* application (IFP-APP-02). However, if you have had any changes to your qualifications under subsections (2) and (3) of MS Code § 45-9-101 or any new special designations you must complete the full *Application For Concealed Carry Firearm Permit* (IFP-APP-01) and check "Renewal Application" at the top. There are separate instructions available for renewal on our website and at the DL stations listed below.

FEES

There are required fees associated with this permit:

- A license fee of Eighty dollars (\$80.00)
- A background check fee of Thirty-Two dollars (\$32.00)

Thus a total of One Hundred Twelve dollars (\$112.00) is required at application. This amount may be paid in person with cash, a personal check, a Cashier's Check, a Visa or MasterCard credit card or a debit card. A personal check or Cashier's Check should be made payable to the Department of Public Safety. A portion can be waived if you meet certain requirements; these are documented below. All fees are non-refundable.

Disabled Veterans Disabled veterans are exempt from the license fee for a permit. However, the Thirty-Two dollar (\$32.00) fee for the background check is still necessary as it is a fee required by the FBI to perform the background check. If you are claiming this exception, be sure to check "Yes" on C-3 of the application and provide a copy of the Veteran Health Identification Card (VHIC).

Active Duty Military Active Duty Military personnel and their spouses can qualify for license fee exemption. A copy of the current orders is required to qualify for this exemption. However, the Thirty-Two dollar (\$32.00) fee for the background check is still necessary as it is a fee required by the FBI to perform the background check. If you are claiming this exception, be sure to check "Yes" on C-1 of the application and provide a copy of you or your spouse's current orders.



## Active Law Enforcement

Active law enforcement officers employed with a law enforcement agency of a municipality, county or state at the time of their application can qualify for exemption from the license fee. However, the Thirty-Two dollar (\$32.00) fee for the background check is still required as it is a fee required by the FBI, who conducts the background check, and not the State of Mississippi. If you are claiming this exception, be sure to check "Yes" on C-4 of the application and provide a letter on your agency's letterhead stating you are employed at that agency and a letter on agency letterhead documenting your completion of a certified law enforcement training academy.

#### **IDENTIFICATION**

First-time applicants must present two current forms of identification:

Photo identification – either a state Driver's License, a state Identification Card or a tribal identification card from a federally-recognized Indian tribe.

\*Active Duty Military personnel and their spouses who are non-residents stationed in Mississippi applying for a firearm permit will need to provide their military orders an original Birth Certificate and Social Security Card in addition to a valid Driver License or ID card issued by their state of residence.

### ENHANCED CARRY OPTION

The Enhanced Carry Option is an optional endorsement that can be obtained by civilians who opt to take an 8 hour safety course as well as by members or veterans of any active or reserve branch of the U.S. Armed Forces or retired law enforcement officers who have completed law enforcement or combat training with pistols or other handguns. This option allows the person the privilege of carrying a concealed weapon in some of the prohibited areas listed in subsection 13 of MS Code §45-9-101, except for any place of nuisance (defined in MS Code §95-3-1), or any police, sheriff or highway patrol station or any detention facility, prison or jail. This does not, however, allow a person to violate a prohibition against carrying firearms posted by written notice.

Retired Law Enforcement Requirements Retired Law Enforcement personnel can obtain the enhanced carry option without the required civilian 8 hour safety course. However, formal law enforcement training or military combat training with pistols or other handguns is required. To obtain the enhanced carry option, the Military/ Retired Law Enforcement Enhanced Carry Affidavit (IFP-AFF03) must be completed, notarized and included with the application.

#### Military Requirements

Current and former members of an active or reserve branch of the U.S. Armed Forces can also obtain the enhanced carry option without the required 8 hour civilian safety course. However, formal law enforcement training or military combat training with pistols or other handguns is required. To obtain the enhanced carry option, the Military/ Retired Law Enforcement Enhanced Carry Affidavit (IFP-AFF03) must be completed, notarized and included with the application.



## APPLICTION INSTRUCTIONS

The Initial Application <a href="#">IFP-APP-01</a> is divided into 5 parts:

- A) Personal Information
- B) Qualifying Questions
- C) Special Designations
- D) Enhanced Carry Option
- E) Residency

A notarized affidavit and Release of Information (IFP-AFF-01) is also required.

Be sure to check that you are completing an Initial Application in the block located at the upper right of the form.

## A. Personal Information

The Personal Information section is for documenting your identifying information. This includes:

- 1) Full Name your Last, First and Middle name. If you have more than three, please enter more than one name where appropriate.
- 2) Other names if you have been known by another name in the past, please check "Yes" and complete Section 1 of <a href="IFP-FORM-01">IFP-FORM-01</a>. Otherwise, check "No" and continue.
- 3) Date of Birth please enter your date of birth in MM/DD/YYYY format.
- 4) Current Residential Address unless you meet certain exemptions, you are required to be a Mississippi resident. Your current residential address should reflect this. If not, please make sure you meet one of the alternate conditions under Question B-1. Your mailing address may be different in some scenarios and can be documented below your residential address. Please be sure to include the county or counties as part of the address.
- 5) DL Number/Social Security Number you must provide one of these identifiers in the block provided. This is a state law requirement.
- 6) Occupation please list your current occupation.
- 7) Height please provide your current height in feet and inches. You may use a single quote (') for feet and a double quote (") for inches. For example 5'10".
- 8) Weight please provide your current weight in pounds. Please round this to the nearest pound.
- 9) Gender Please enter "Male" or "Female". If you do not wish to designate this characteristic, please enter "Not Specified"
- 10) Race the following options are available:

Alaskan or American Indian Asian or Pacific Islander

White Black

11) Hair Color – please choose your hair color from these options:

Bald Red/Auburn
Black Sandy
Brown White

Gray



12) Eye Color – please choose your eye color from these options:

Black Green
Blue Hazel
Dichromatic Maroon
Gray Pink

- 13) Email if you would like us to communicate with you via eMail, please enter your eMail address. This is an optional field.
- 14) Daytime Contact Number please enter a phone number that we can use to contact you during business hours if there is an issue with your application.
- 15) Place of Birth please note the city and state where you were born. If it was out of the country, please note the city and country of birth.
- 16) Citizenship please indicate your current citizenship status. If you answer with one of the "Other" options, please document your country or countries of citizenship, your USCIS Alien Registration number (if applicable) and be sure to complete <a href="IFP-FORM-01">IFP-FORM-01</a>, Section 2 to fully document your citizenship status.
- B. Qualifying Questions

The questions in this section are primarily derived from the qualifications listed in MS Code §45-9-101 (2) and (3). In order to obtain a permit in the State of Mississippi, you must meet these qualifications. The questions should be self-explanatory. In some cases, answering in the affirmative requires that you complete an additional form to fully document your answer. These forms include:

<u>IFP-FORM-02</u> Documenting Criminal Charges/Convictions <u>IFP-FORM-03</u> Documenting Domestic Violence Crimes

These forms can be obtained at the <u>website</u> or by visiting one of the locations listed below. You should fill out these additional forms only if you answer certain questions in the affirmative as noted on the application. These particular questions are clearly marked with the form that would be required if you answer "Yes".

C. Special Designations

The Special Designations section is available to document special situations that might eliminate the required permit fee and/or provide special markings on the permit card. Honorably retired law enforcement officers, disabled veterans and active duty members of the Armed Forces of the United States shall be exempt from the payment of the license fee.

However, the elimination of the license fee does not waive the charge for fingerprinting and completing a background check. That service is provided by the FBI, which requires a payment to that federal agency.

D. Enhanced Carry Option

As noted previously, the Enhanced Carry Option is an optional endorsement that can be obtained by civilians who opt to take an 8 hour safety course. This option is also available to members or veterans of any active or reserve branch of the U.S. Armed Forces or retired law enforcement officers who have completed law enforcement or combat training with pistols or other handguns. This option allows the person the privilege of carrying a concealed weapon in some of the prohibited areas listed in subsection 13 of MS Code §45-9-101, except for any place of nuisance (defined in MS Code §95-3-1), or any police,

sheriff or highway patrol station or any detention facility, prison or jail. This does not, however, allow a person to violate a prohibition against carrying firearms posted by written notice.

For civilians applying for Enhanced Carry, they should have completed an 8-hour course of instruction by an instructor certified by the Department of Public Safety. A signed certificate acknowledging the satisfactory completion of this training needs to be attached to the application.

Current and former members of the U.S. Armed forces who have completed military combat training with pistols or other handguns or had formal law enforcement training may substitute this training in lieu of the 8 hour training requirement. Retired law enforcement and corrections officers who have completed formal law enforcement training or completed military combat training with pistols or other handguns. In order to take advantage of this option, the form <a href="IFP-AFF-03">IFP-AFF-03</a> "Military/Retired Law Enforcement Enhanced Carry Affidavit" must be completed, notarized and provided with your application.

#### E. Residency

This section should be used to document your residences for the past two years. Your most recent residence (which you provided in Section A-4) should be first, followed by your previous residence. An additional row is provided for a third residence. If you need to document more residences, please note them on the back of the form or separate page in a similar fashion.

## AFFIDAVIT AND RELEASE OF INFORMATION

A notarized Affidavit and Release of Information form is also required for new applicants. The form <a href="IFP-AFF-01">IFP-AFF-01</a> is required for new applicants. The form <a href="IFP-AFF-02">IFP-AFF-02</a> is required for renewals where the applicant has status changes to document. Both forms include:

- A statement that you wish to obtain a legal means to carry a concealed weapon to defend yourself
- A statement that you have read and meet all the required qualifications for applying for a license as delineated in MS Code §45-9-101
- An acknowledgement that you understand that your application is executed under oath and a knowingly false statement or false document subjects you to criminal prosecution
- A further acknowledgement that you understand that a conviction of providing false statements or documents shall subject you to the penalties noted in MS Code §99-19-31.

This form also contains a release to allow the Department of Public Safety to conduct a background check to determine your eligibility for a Mississippi Concealed Firearm Permit. Be sure to wait to sign this form until you are in the presence of your notary.



## SUBMISSION OF APPLICATION

Once you have completed the application, all required forms and had your Affidavit notarized, bring all materials to one of the locations listed below. You may make an appointment in advance by going to the Online Appointment Scheduler (<a href="https://telegov.egov.com/dps">https://telegov.egov.com/dps</a>). If you are unable to schedule an appointment, you may simply come to the location. However, appointments do take precedence and you may end up needing to schedule an appointment in the future

Here you will submit your application, which will be scanned in with the credentials you presented for identification. Then you will be photographed and fingerprinted. Your fingerprints will be compared with those in state and federal databases to ensure you have no criminal background that might preclude your obtaining a permit.

As this background check typically takes some time, you will not receive a permit while you are at the station. If you qualify, a permit card acknowledging your ability to carry a concealed weapon will be mailed to you. MS Code §45-9-101(6)(c) allows for up to 45 days before a response is required.

In the event that the Department finds that an applicant fails to qualify for a permit, it will provide written notification stating the grounds for denial. This can be appealed and the appeal process is documented in MS Code §45-9-101(7).

### LOCATIONS AND HOURS OF OPERATION

The following locations are available to accept your application:

#### **Jackson Headquarters**

1900 E. Woodrow Wilson Jackson, MS 39205 {601} 987-1593 Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Daily 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM **Troop C** 

3851 Hwy 468, Pearl, MS 39208 (601-420-6342)
Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Daily 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Troop D

1301 Cypress Avenue Greenwood, MS 38930  $\{662\}$  453-4515 Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Daily 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM **Troop E** 

22000 A Hwy 35 N Batesville, MS 38606 {662} 563-6400
Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Daily 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Troop F

1103 Bratton Road New Albany, MS 38652 {662} 534-8619 Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Daily 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM **Troop G** 

987 Hwy 182 E Starkville, MS 39759 {662} 323-5316 Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Daily 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

910 Hwy 11/80 E Meridian, MS 39301 (601) 693-1926 Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Daily 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

36 J.M Tatum Ind. Dr. Hattiesburg, MS 39401 (601) 582-4744
Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Daily 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

16741 Hwy 67 S Biloxi, MS 39532 {228} 396-7400 Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Daily 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM **Troop M** 

160 Hwy 84 E Brookhaven, MS 39601 {601} 833-0808 Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Daily 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

