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  MISSISSIPPI 

  DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
  SECURITY GUARD PERMIT APPLICATION 

 
SECURITY GUARD GUN PERMIT INSTRUCTIONS 

FIRST TIME AND RENEWAL 
 
 

 
 

 
1. Complete the First time/Renewal application for a Security Guard gun permit and have it 

notarized.  
 

2. Complete the Domestic Violence Affidavit and Authority to Release Information forms and 
have them notarized. Applicants not born in the United States must complete and notarize 
the affidavit on page eleven (11). 

 
3. Once the application is completed and notarized, the individual making the application must 

bring it to the Department of Public Safety Headquarters in Jackson or a Mississippi Highway 
Patrol District Substation in Pearl, Greenwood, Batesville, New Albany, Starkville, Meridian, 
Hattiesburg, Biloxi or Brookhaven on the days and times indicated on the attached schedule. 

 
4. The fee for a Security Guard Permit is $132.00. The permit renewal fee is $82.00. The Security 

Guard Permit Renewal Fee for a retired Law Enforcement Officer is $32.00 (must provide a 
letter from retiring agency stating that the officer retired honorably and completed a law 
enforcement training academy). This fee may be paid with Cash, Debit, Credit, or Cashier’s 
Check made payable to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety.  

 
INSTRUCTIONS MUST BE FOLLOWED AND THE APPLICATION MUST BE COMPLETE OR IT WILL 
BE RETURNED WITHOUT BEING PROCESSED. 
 
Completed packets are processed Monday – Friday from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm at the Firearm 
Permit Division in Jackson. Other processing locations and times are listed on page 2.  

 
If you have any questions, please contact the Firearm Permit Division at (601) 987-1593 or go 
to www.dps.state.ms.us and for reference our fax number is (601) 987-1547. 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 

http://www.dps.state.ms/
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Hours of Operation 

Jackson Headquarters          
1900 E. Woodrow Wilson Jackson, MS 39205 {601} 987-1593      
Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits – Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. 
 
Troop C 
3851 Hwy 468 Pearl, MS 39208 {601} 420-6342 
Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits – Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. 
 
Troop D 
1301 Cypress Avenue Greenwood, MS 38930 {662} 453-4515 
Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. 
 

Troop E 
22000 A Hwy 35 N Batesville, MS 38606 {662} 563-6400 
Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 pm 
 

Troop F 
1103 Bratton Road New Albany, MS 38652 {662} 534-8619 
Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. 
 

Troop G 
987 Hwy 182 E Starkville, MS 39759 {662} 323-5316 
Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. 
 
Troop H 
910 Hwy 11/80 E Meridian, MS 39301 {601} 693-1926 
Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. 
 
Troop J 
36 J M Tatum Ind. Dr. Hattiesburg, MS 39401 {601} 582-4744 
Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. 
 
Troop K  
16741 Hwy 67 S Biloxi, MS 39532 {228} 396-7400 
Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. 
 

Troop M 
160 Hwy 84 E Brookhaven, MS 39601 {601} 833-0808 
Firearm Permits & Security Guard Permits Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. 
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TITLE 97.  CRIMES  
CHAPTER 37.  WEAPONS AND EXPLOSIVES  

GENERAL PROVISIONS 

Miss. Code Ann. § 97-37-7 (2019) 
 
§ 97-37-7. Deadly weapons; persons permitted to carry weapons; bond; permit to carry weapon; grounds 
for denying application for permit; required weapons training course; reciprocal agreements  
(1) (a) It shall not be a violation of Section 97-37-1 or any other statute for pistols, firearms or other 
suitable and appropriate weapons to be carried by duly constituted bank guards, company guards, 
watchmen, railroad special agents or duly authorized representatives who are not sworn law enforcement 
officers, agents or employees of a patrol service, guard service, or a company engaged in the business of 
transporting money, securities or other valuables, while actually engaged in the performance of their 
duties as such, provided that such persons have made a written application and paid a nonrefundable 
permit fee of One Hundred Dollars ($ 100.00) to the Department of Public Safety. 
(b) No permit shall be issued to any person who has ever been convicted of a felony under the laws of this 
or any other state or of the United States. To determine an applicant's eligibility for a permit, the person 
shall be fingerprinted. If no disqualifying record is identified at the state level, the fingerprints shall be 
forwarded by the Department of Public Safety to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a national 
criminal history record check. The department shall charge a fee which includes the amounts required by 
the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the department for the national and state criminal history record 
checks and any necessary costs incurred by the department for the handling and administration of the 
criminal history background checks. In the event a legible set of fingerprints, as determined by the 
Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, cannot be obtained after a minimum 
of three (3) attempts, the Department of Public Safety shall determine eligibility based upon a name check 
by the Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol and a Federal Bureau of Investigation name check conducted 
by the Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol at the request of the Department of Public Safety. 
(c) A person may obtain a duplicate of a lost or destroyed permit upon payment of a Fifteen Dollar ($ 
15.00) replacement fee to the Department of Public Safety, if he furnishes a notarized statement to the 
department that the permit has been lost or destroyed. 
(d) (i) No less than ninety (90) days prior to the expiration date of a permit, the Department of Public 
Safety shall mail to the permit holder written notice of expiration together with the renewal form 
prescribed by the department. The permit holder shall renew the permit on or before the expiration date 
by filing with the department the renewal form, a notarized affidavit stating that the permit holder remains 
qualified, and the renewal fee of Fifty Dollars ($ 50.00); provided, however, that honorably retired law 
enforcement officers shall be exempt from payment of the renewal fee. A permit holder who fails to file a 
renewal application on or before its expiration date shall pay a late fee of Fifteen Dollars ($ 15.00). 
 (ii) Renewal of the permit shall be required every four (4) years. The permit of a qualified renewal 
applicant shall be renewed upon receipt of the completed renewal application and appropriate payment of 
fees.  

(iii) A permit cannot be renewed six (6) months or more after its expiration date, and such permit shall be 
deemed to be permanently expired; the holder may reapply for an original permit as provided in this 
section.  
(2) It shall not be a violation of this or any other statute for pistols, firearms or other suitable and 
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appropriate weapons to be carried by Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks law enforcement 
officers, railroad special agents who are sworn law enforcement officers, investigators employed by the 
Attorney General, criminal investigators employed by the district attorneys, all prosecutors, public 
defenders, investigators or probation officers employed by the Department of Corrections, employees of 
the State Auditor who are authorized by the State Auditor to perform investigative functions, or any 
deputy fire marshal or investigator employed by the State Fire Marshal, while engaged in the performance 
of their duties as such, or by fraud investigators with the Department of Human Services, or by judges of 
the Mississippi Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, circuit, chancery, county, justice and municipal courts, 
or by coroners. Before any person shall be authorized under this subsection to carry a weapon, he shall 
complete a weapons training course approved by the Board of Law Enforcement Officer Standards and 
Training. Before any criminal investigator employed by a district attorney shall be authorized under this 
section to carry a pistol, firearm or other weapon, he shall have complied with Section 45-6-11 or any 
training program required for employment as an agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigation. A law 
enforcement officer, as defined in Section 45-6-3, shall be authorized to carry weapons in courthouses in 
performance of his official duties. A person licensed under Section 45-9-101 to carry a concealed pistol, 
who (a) has voluntarily completed an instructional course in the safe handling and use of firearms offered 
by an instructor certified by a nationally recognized organization that customarily offers firearms training, 
or by any other organization approved by the Department of Public Safety, (b) is a member or veteran of 
any active or reserve component branch of the United States of America Armed Forces having completed 
law enforcement or combat training with pistols or other handguns as recognized by such branch after 
submitting an affidavit attesting to have read, understand and agree to comply with all provisions of the 
enhanced carry law, or (c) is an honorably retired law enforcement officer or honorably retired member or 
veteran of any active or reserve component branch of the United States of America Armed Forces having 
completed law enforcement or combat training with pistols or other handguns, after submitting affidavit 
attesting to have read, understand and agree to comply with all provisions of Mississippi enhanced carry 
law shall also be authorized to carry weapons in courthouses except in courtrooms during a judicial 
proceeding, and any location listed in subsection (13) of Section 45-9-101, except any place of nuisance 
as defined in Section 95-3-1, any police, sheriff or highway patrol station or any detention facility, prison 
or jail. For the purposes of this subsection (2), component branch of the United States Armed Forces 
includes the Army, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard or Marine Corps, or the Army National Guard, the 
Army National Guard of the United States, the Air National Guard or the Air National Guard of the 
United States, as those terms are defined in Section 101, Title 10, United States Code, and any other 
reserve component of the United States Armed Forces enumerated in Section 10101, Title 10, United 
States Code. The department shall promulgate rules and regulations allowing concealed pistol permit 
holders to obtain an endorsement on their permit indicating that they have completed the aforementioned 
course and have the authority to carry in these locations. This section shall in no way interfere with the 
right of a trial judge to restrict the carrying of firearms in the courtroom  
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(3) It shall not be a violation of this or any other statute for pistols, firearms or other suitable and 
appropriate weapons, to be carried by any out-of-state, full-time commissioned law enforcement officer 
who holds a valid commission card from the appropriate out-of-state law enforcement agency and a photo 
identification. The provisions of this subsection shall only apply if the state where the out-of-state officer 
is employed has entered into a reciprocity agreement with the state that allows full-time commissioned 
law enforcement officers in Mississippi to lawfully carry or possess a weapon in such other states. The 
Commissioner of Public Safety is authorized to enter into reciprocal agreements with other states to carry 
out the provisions of this subsection. 
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Pursuant of Section 97-37-7, Mississippi Code of 1972, to be issued a Statewide Security Guard Gun Permit, that is valid while actively engaged in the performance 
of your duties, you must be one or more of the following: [Please check the appropriate box or boxes.] 

� Duly constituted Bank Guard                                                                                                     �     Watchman 

�   Railroad Special Agent                                                                                                                 �     Employee of a Patrol Service 

� Guard Service                                                                                                                                �  Company engaged in the business                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

� Company Guard                                                                                                                                                                
AFFIDAVIT 
THIS APPLICATION AND REQUIRED SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS ARE EXECUTED UNDER OATH.  FALSIFICATION OR MISREPRESNTATION OF 
ANY PART OR ANY DOCUMENT SUBJECTS THE APPLICANT TO CRIMINAL PROSECUTION UNDER MISSISSIPPI STATUES AND DENIAL OF A       
STATEWIDE SECURITY GUARD WEAPON PERMIT. 

 
STATE OF MISSISSIPPI         COUNTY OF_________________ 

 
BEFORE ME ON THIS DAY PERSONALLY APPEARED _____________________________________   who, being duly sworn, deposes and says I DO SWEAR 
OR AFFIRM THAT the information contained in this application and all attached supporting documents are true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 

                   
                                                                                    ____________________________   
                                                                           Signature of Applicant 

Sworn to and subscribed before me, this _____   day of ________, 20 _______. 
           ___________________________________                                    

My Commission Expires: ________________________________                                                                                      Notary Public, State of Mississippi

MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY  
APPLICATION FOR SECURITY GUARD PERMIT 

 
 

FIRST TIME APPLICANT                        RENEWAL APPLICANT      
 

RETIRED LAW ENFORCEMENT □ 
 
THIS APPLICATION WILL NOT BE PROCESSED UNLESS ALL APPLICABLE 
QUESTIONS HAVE BEEN ANSWERED, and all supporting documents are attached. If paying in person you may pay with  
Cash, Debit Card, Master Card, Visa, or Cashier’s Check  made payable to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety. The 
Security Guard Permit fee is $132.00 and the Renewal fee is $82.00. The Security Guard Permit Renewal fee for a Retired 
Law Enforcement Officer is $32.00.   

 Name  Last 
 

First 
 

Middle (full name) 
 
 

Driver’s License Number: 
 
 

State 
 
 

 Residence Address  Street City County State Zip Code 

 Mailing Address Street (Only if different) City County  State Zip Code 

 Date of Birth  Sex  Race  Place of Birth Social Security Number: 
  

Personal Contact Number: 
 

                                               List Chronologically all of your residences for the past two years 
Date Street Address Apt. Number City State 

From                                       To     
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QUALIFYING QUESTIONAIRE FOR ALL APPLICANTS 

� YES    � NO       1.  Are you a United States Citizen?    
 If No, see page 18 

� YES    � NO       2.  Have you been a resident of Mississippi for one (1) year immediately preceding the date of this application? 
� YES    � NO       3.  Are you ineligible to own, possess, or receive a firearm under the provisions of state or federal law? 
� YES    � NO       4.  Have you ever been convicted of a felony offense? 

 Failure, to acknowledge a conviction may be interpreted as making a false statement 
� YES    � NO       5.  Do you have any criminal charges pending? 

 Failure, to acknowledge a conviction may be interpreted as making a false statement 
� YES    � NO       6.  Are you presently on parole or probation for a criminal offense pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a crime   
                                    that would prevent you from obtaining a firearm permit or security guard permit?                                                                                                 
� YES    � NO       7.  Have you ever received a pardon or expungement for a criminal offense? 
� YES    � NO       8.  Have you ever been found guilty of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to any criminal / felony charge? 
� YES    � NO       9.  Are you suffering from any mental or physical infirmity due to disease, illness, which could prevent the safe    
                                    handling of a handgun?                    
� YES    � NO      10. Do you chronically or habitually abuse controlled substance? 
� YES    � NO      11. Have you ever been committed involuntarily, or voluntarily admitted to any treatment facility, institution, or  
                                    hospital for the abuse of a controlled dangerous substance? 
� YES    � NO      12. Have you been committed to a mental institution or mental health treatment facility within five years prior to the  
                                    date of this application?           
� YES    � NO      13. Have you ever been hospitalized for any form of mental illness or infirmity?  SEC.45-9-101 2 (h)(i)(j) 

 If Yes, attach documentation from the treating mental health professional / treatment center 
� YES     � NO     14.  Have you ever been adjudicated mentally incompetent? 
� YES     � NO     15.  Have you ever been denied a concealed handgun permit or had a permit suspended or revoked? 
� YES     � NO     16.  Do you currently hold a valid or expired handgun / security guard permit? 

 If you answered, “YES,” to questions 3-15, please provide details below and attach any applicable 
disposition, pardon or expungement orders. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

MILITARY SERVICE 
� YES   � NO      17.    Have you ever served in the United States Armed Forces? 
� YES   � NO      18.    Are you currently serving in the United States Armed Forces? 
� YES   � NO      19.    Have you ever been dishonorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces? ____________________________ 

 If Yes, attach documentation 
                        20.  If Discharged indicate the type of discharge. _________________________  
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  AFFIDAVIT OF FACT 

 

 

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI                                                              COUNTY OF ______________________  

  

 __________________________________ 
Affiant’s Name (Printed)  

 

__________________________________ 
Affiant’s Address (Printed)  

  

 I, _________________________, having been duly sworn, depose and say that I have read the foregoing 
application, and the contents thereof, and do hereby certify that my responses and information contained 
within this application are true and correct and they are an accurate account of the requested information. 
In addition, I have also read, understand, and agree to comply with the statutes contained in Mississippi 
Code 45-9-101, 97-37-7, and 97-3-15. I have executed this statement voluntarily with the knowledge that 
any failure to provide truthful information is cause for denial of my application or revocation of a permit.  
Any person who knowingly submits a false answer to any question on an application for a license, or who 
knowingly submits a false document when applying for a license issued pursuant to Section 45-9-101, 
shall upon conviction, be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished as provided in Section 99-19-31, 
Mississippi Code of 1972. 

  ____________________________________  
  Affiant’s Signature 

  

Sworn to and subscribed before me on this _______________ day of _________________, 
________________. 

  ___________________________________              ___________________________________  
 Print, Type, or Stamp Name of Notary Public                     Notary Public, State of Mississippi  

  My commission expires __________________ 
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AUTHORITY TO RELEASE INFORMATION 
  

Please read the following release form carefully and enter your name, signature and date in the designated 
spaces. 

THIS FORM MUST BE NOTARIZED       

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: 

Having made application for a firearm permit to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety and desiring 
them to be informed of my past record and character, whether it be military, medical, judicial, or personal 
reference, I, the undersigned, being under no disability whatsoever, hereby authorize the release of all 
such information , privileged or otherwise, to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety and its 
representatives, and release all contributing parties such information from any changes or liability 
whatsoever because of furnishing said information. I further understand that this release will only be used 
to obtain information for the purpose of determining my eligibility for a Mississippi Concealed Carry 
Firearm Permit.  

This release shall be and remain valid from the date of execution until the expiration or revocation of any 
concealed carry firearm permit issued to me pursuant to this application, or until my application for a 
concealed carry firearm permit has been denied pursuant to a final judicial decision.   
     

Signature: _____________________________        Date: ________________________________ 
      

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI 

COUNTY OF _____________________ 

Personally came and appeared before me, the undersigned authority in and for said county and state, the 
within named _________________________________, who acknowledged to me that he/she signed and 
delivered the above foregoing waiver on the date therein mentioned and for the purpose therein expressed. 

Given under my hand and seal of this office, this _______day of ___________, 20____ 

             
       __________________________________ 
                           Notary Public, State of Mississippi 

My Commission Expires_________________________                  
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DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AFFIDAVIT 

The law.  Title 18, U.S.C., Section 922 (g) (9) makes it against the law for anyone who has been convicted of a misdemeanor 
crime of domestic violence to possess any firearm or ammunition.  “Misdemeanor crime of domestic violence” is generally 
defined as any offense-whether or not explicitly described in a statute as a crime of domestic violence – which has, as its factual 
basis, the use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly weapon, committed by the victim’s current or 
former domestic partner, parent, or guardian.  As defined in the Gun Control Act, a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence 
means an offense that: 

 
(1)  Is a misdemeanor under federal or state law; and 
(2)  has, as an element, the use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly weapon,                 

committed by a current or former spouse, parent, or guardian of the victim, by a person with whom the victim shares a 
child in common, by a person who is cohabiting with or has cohabited with the victim as a spouse, parent, or guardian, 
or by a person similarly situated to a spouse, parent, or guardian of the victim. 
The law further provides that a person shall not be considered to have been convicted of such an offense for     
purposes of this chapter, unless: 

(3)  the person was represented by counsel in the case, or knowingly and intelligently waived the right to counsel in the   
case; and 

(4)  in the case of a prosecution for an offense described in the paragraph for which a person was entitled to a jury trial in 
the jurisdiction in which the case was tried, either the case was tried by a jury, or the person knowingly and 
intelligently waived the right to have the case tried by a jury, by guilty plea or otherwise. 

 
The law further states that “A person shall not be considered to have been convicted of such an offense for purposes of this chapter if 
the conviction has been expunged or set aside, or is an offense for which the person has been pardoned or has had civil rights 
restored… unless the pardon, expungement or restoration of civil rights expressly provides that the person may not ship, transport, 
possess or receive firearms.” 
 
HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A MISDEMEANOR CRIME OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE WITHIN THE MEANING OF 
THE STATUTE?  YES__________NO ___________ 
If you answered “yes” to this question, please provide the following information with respect to the conviction: 
Court/Jurisdiction_____________________________________________________ 
Docket/Case Number___________________________________________________ 
Statute/Charge________________________________________________________ 
Date Sentenced________________________________________________________ 
(Note:  Any person who makes any false affidavit or knowingly swears or affirms falsely to any matter or thing required by the terms 
of this application to be sworn to or affirmed, is guilty of perjury and upon conviction, shall be punishable by fine or imprisonment 
for a term not exceeding ten years.) 
 
I hereby certify that, to the best of my information and belief, all of the information provided by me in this rider is true, correct, 
complete and made in good faith.  I understand that false or fraudulent information provided herein is criminally punishable pursuant 
to federal and state law. 
 
Name: _____________________________________________   Date: _____________________________ 
                                 Signature 
 
STATE OF MISSISSIPPI 

COUNTY OF __________________________ 

 
Before me this day personally appeared _________________________________________________, who being duly sworn, deposes and says that the 
information contained in this rider is true and correct to the best of his/her knowledge. 
 
Sworn and subscribed before me, this ______________day of _______________, 20 _____. 

 
My Commission Expires: _____________________________________  ___________________________________________________ 

                       Notary Public, State of Mississippi   
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RIDER TO ALL FIREARM PERMIT APPLICATIONS 
(To be completed by all applicants NOT BORN in the United States) 

Prohibitions Applicable to Certain Aliens 

Federal law makes it unlawful for aliens who are illegally or unlawfully in the United States to receive or possess firearms.  In addition, 
subject to certain exceptions, aliens who are non-immigrant status are prohibited from possessing or receiving firearms in the United 
States.  A non-immigrant alien is not subject to this prohibition if the alien (1) is in possession of a valid hunting license or permit 
lawfully issued in the United States; (2) is an official representative of a foreign government who is accredited to the United States or his 
or her government’s mission to an international organization having its headquarters in the United States; or (3) has received a waiver 
from the prohibition from the Attorney General of the United States.  See 18 U.S.C. 992(y)(2) for additional exceptions.  In order to 
determine whether applicants who are not U.S. citizens are prohibited from possessing firearms under Federal law, it is necessary to 
obtain answers to the following questions. 

1.   Name of Applicant_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

2.   Place of Birth (City and Country) ________________________________________________________________________ 

3.  Are you a citizen of the United States? Yes________ No_________ 

If the answer to Question 3 is “yes,” please provide your Certificate of Naturalization, Birth Certificate of U.S. Citizen Born Abroad 
Questions 4-8 are not applicable to you.  Go directly to the certification statement at the bottom of this form. 

4.   What is your country of citizenship?  List more than one if applicable.     
       ____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
5.   What is your INS-issued alien number or admission number? ________________________________________________ 
       Please provide your INS documents. 

     
6.   Are you an alien illegally in the United States? Yes______ No______ 

7.   Are you a non-immigrant alien? Yes_____ No______ 
   If the answer to 7 is “no,” there is no need to answer question 8.  Go directly to the certification statement at the  
   bottom of this form. 

         
8a.  Do you fall within any of the exemptions to the non-immigrant alien prohibition set forth in 18 U.S.C. 922(y)?  

 Yes_____ No_____ 
 

8b.  If you answered “yes” to question 8a, under which exemption do you fall?  Please provide documentation to support 
 your entitlement of the claimed exemption, if applicable. 

   ________________________________________________________________________________________________    
   

I hereby certify that all of the information provided by me in this rider is true, correct, complete, and made in good faith.  I understand that 
false or fraudulent information provided herein is criminally punishable pursuant to federal and state law. 
 
Signature: ________________________________________________ Date_________________________________________ 

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI 
COUNTY OF_________________________________________ 

Before me this day personally appeared____________________________________________________, who, being duly sworn, deposes 
and says that the information contained in this rider is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 

 
Sworn and subscribed before me, this _______________day of ____________________________, 20________. 

My Commission Expires: 

_____________________________ 

                    ______________________________________________    
                                                                                 Notary Public, State of Mississippi   
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MILITARY/ RETIRED LAW ENFORCEMENT  
ENHANCED CARRY AFFIDAVIT 

 

Please read the following Statute to verify that one or more of the statements pertaining to your 
military or law enforcement background apply. You must have completed law enforcement or 
combat training with pistols or other handguns in order to qualify for the enhanced carry 
endorsement under this provision.  

97-37-7 (2) (b) is a member or veteran of any active or reserve component branch of the United States 
of America Armed Forces having completed law enforcement or combat training with pistols or other 
handguns as recognized by such branch after submitting an affidavit attesting to have read, understand 
and agree to comply with all provisions of the enhanced carry law, or (c) is an honorably retired law 
enforcement officer or honorably retired member or veteran of any active or reserve component branch 
of the United States of America Armed Forces having completed law enforcement or combat training 
with pistols or other handguns, after submitting affidavit attesting to have read, understand and agree to 
comply with all provisions of Mississippi enhanced carry law. 

I, _____________________________________, having been duly sworn, depose and say that I do 
qualify for the Mississippi enhanced carry endorsement in accordance with section 97-37-7 (2)(b)(c).  
 
 
Name: _____________________________________                       Date: ____________________ 
                                   Signature 
 
 
STATE OF MISSISSIPPI 
COUNTY OF _____________________ 

Before me this day personally appeared _____________________________________, who being 
duly sworn, deposes and says that the information contained in this rider is true and correct to the best of 
his/her knowledge. 
 
Sworn and subscribed before me, this ___________day of___________, and 20____. 
 
My Commission Expires: ___________________                        __________________________________ 
                                                                                                               Notary Public, State of Mississippi 
 

 


