DPS Leadership

Governor Phil Bryant

Governor Phil Bryant

Known for strong integrity and sincere concern for his fellow man, Phil Bryant was sworn in as Mississippi’s 64th governor on January 10, 2012. He was elected in November 2011 after capturing 62 percent of the vote.

In his inaugural address, Bryant outlined his vision for Mississippians to “rise together” by continuing to foster their great character, hard work and loyalty to family, state and country.

A former Deputy Sheriff, State Auditor and Lt. Governor, Phil Bryant has a strong background and focus on supporting law enforcement and public safety initiatives to make Mississippi a safer place to live, work and raise families.

Marshall Fisher, Commissioner

Marshall Fisher, Commissioner

Commissioner Marshall Fisher was appointed by Governor Phil Bryant in February 2017. His service in Mississippi State Government includes his appointment as the Mississippi Department of Corrections Commissioner from 2015 to 2017 and his service as the Executive Director of the Mississippi Bureau of Narcotics from 2005 to 2014. Additionally, Fisher has served as state director for the Mississippi Gulf Coast High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area. Throughout his career, he has coordinated joint operations involving DEA, Mississippi Bureau of Narcotics, Immigration and Customs Enforcement, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco and Firearms, Mississippi Bureau of Investigation, Mississippi Highway Patrol, and numerous other federal, state and local law enforcement agencies.

Commissioner Fisher is retired from the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), where he was assigned as Agent in Charge of Mississippi DEA operations. During his tenure with the DEA, Fisher was assigned to field offices in Texas, Kansas, Kentucky and DEA Headquarters in Washington, D.C., where he served as section chief in the Office of Domestic Operations to Europe, Asia, Africa and Canada.

Commissioner Fisher started his career in law enforcement as a police officer in Texas and as a parole agent in Louisiana. He is a U.S. Navy veteran and a graduate of the University of Memphis. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Criminal Justice.

Colonel Chris Gillard

Colonel Chris Gillard

February 1, 2016 Colonel Christopher “Chris” Gillard was appointed to his current position as Mississippi’s Assistant Public Safety Commissioner and Director of the Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol. Prior to this appointment Colonel Gillard was the Director of Driver Services.

Colonel Gillard has served in many capacities since graduating from Patrol School in 1994, including Director of Training for the Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol Law Enforcement Training Academy, Executive Officer to the Commissioner of Public Safety, Homeland Security Liaison Officer, Team Leader for Patrol Schools, Driving Instructor, Firearms Instructor and Tactical Communications Instructor. Colonel Gillard has also served in specialized units within the Governor’s Security Detail and Drug Trafficking (Interdiction) Unit. Colonel Gillard is a graduate of Alcorn State University. He and his wife, Karla, have one daughter.

LTC Ken Brown

Lieutenant Colonel Ken Brown, Director

April 1, 2016, Lieutenant Colonel Ken K. Brown was appointed to his current position as Director of The Driver Service Bureau. He began his career with the Department of Public Safety on October 28, 1999 as a Trooper, ensuring the safety and security of Mississippi’s citizens through direct public service on Mississippi roads and highways. Prior to his appointment, LTC Brown served in many different capacities to include investigator with the Mississippi Bureau of Investigation for five years, assigned to the Drug Enforcement Administration, Assistant and Director of the Driver Records Division and Deputy Director, Administrative Operations for the Driver Service Bureau. His commitment to faithful service both to the public and staff have been the cornerstone and guiding principles of his years of service.

LTC Brown is a 2004 graduate of Tougaloo College and is a twenty-year veteran with the United States Army. LTC Brown is married to Toya Brown with two children: Alston and Kennedi.

Captain James C. Kelly

Captain James C. Kelly

Deputy Director of Field Operations

Ray Hall

Lt. Ray Hall

Northern Regional Field Operations

Ola Kirk

Lt. Ola Kirk

Central Regional Field Operations

Jason Ashley

Lt. Jason Ashley

Southern Regional Field Operations

Odis Easterling

Captain Odis Easterling

Deputy Director of Administrative Operations

Kenneth McGruder

M/Sgt. Kenneth McGruder

Interim Director of Driver Records Division

Mike Santacruz

Lt. Mike Santa Cruz

Director of Tint Compliance Division

Lt. Johnny Delaney

Lt. Johnny Delaney

Director of Security Compliance Division

MSG John Warren

M/Sgt. John Warren

Interim Director of Firearm Permit Division